Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1579169829109772288
Improved Formatting
Source Link
phuclv
  • 28.4k
  • 15
  • 128
  • 252

I have more than 10,000 rows of data I need to do some calculations on one column of the data. I have made the calculation in one cell and now need to fill the formula for the calculation and all the cells. 

Usually I just select the cells using the keyboard and then press the control + DCtrl+D to fill the cells. However, now I have to do this repeatedly, and it is difficult to keep on selecting 5000 rows each file. Is there a simpler way where I can just specify the range using the keyboard? Perhaps even have a macro since all of the files have a fixed length Also

Also, since I have difficulty in using the mouse because of medical reasons and therefore I have not tested this particular solution which involves clicking on a very small fill handle. Maybe there is a parallel solution to this using the keyboard or maybe I can create a macro which will automatically click on a fill handle of a selected cell - please advise if there is a way. Thank you

I have more than 10,000 rows of data I need to do some calculations on one column of the data. I have made the calculation in one cell and now need to fill the formula for the calculation and all the cells. Usually I just select the cells using the keyboard and then press the control + D to fill the cells. However, now I have to do this repeatedly, and it is difficult to keep on selecting 5000 rows each file. Is there a simpler way where I can just specify the range using the keyboard? Perhaps even have a macro since all of the files have a fixed length Also, since I have difficulty in using the mouse because of medical reasons and therefore I have not tested this particular solution which involves clicking on a very small fill handle. Maybe there is a parallel solution to this using the keyboard or maybe I can create a macro which will automatically click on a fill handle of a selected cell - please advise if there is a way. Thank you

I have more than 10,000 rows of data I need to do some calculations on one column of the data. I have made the calculation in one cell and now need to fill the formula for the calculation and all the cells. 

Usually I just select the cells using the keyboard and then press the Ctrl+D to fill the cells. However, now I have to do this repeatedly, and it is difficult to keep on selecting 5000 rows each file. Is there a simpler way where I can just specify the range using the keyboard? Perhaps even have a macro since all of the files have a fixed length

Also, since I have difficulty in using the mouse because of medical reasons and therefore I have not tested this particular solution which involves clicking on a very small fill handle. Maybe there is a parallel solution to this using the keyboard or maybe I can create a macro which will automatically click on a fill handle of a selected cell - please advise if there is a way.

Source Link
Ramana
  • 211
  • 1
  • 3
  • 8

How to fill a large series (over 10,000 rows) in Microsoft Excel without dragging or selecting cells?

I have more than 10,000 rows of data I need to do some calculations on one column of the data. I have made the calculation in one cell and now need to fill the formula for the calculation and all the cells. Usually I just select the cells using the keyboard and then press the control + D to fill the cells. However, now I have to do this repeatedly, and it is difficult to keep on selecting 5000 rows each file. Is there a simpler way where I can just specify the range using the keyboard? Perhaps even have a macro since all of the files have a fixed length Also, since I have difficulty in using the mouse because of medical reasons and therefore I have not tested this particular solution which involves clicking on a very small fill handle. Maybe there is a parallel solution to this using the keyboard or maybe I can create a macro which will automatically click on a fill handle of a selected cell - please advise if there is a way. Thank you