Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 2 at 11:19 comment added pooispoois It depends, I arrived at this question and the issue I was having was actually the corner trapping behaviour described in this answer, not a gap solvable by going to display settings. Although I agree that this is technically not a solution because there is apparently no solution to this (very annoying) corner trapping behaviour when moving between monitors.
Nov 7, 2023 at 14:10 comment added Randy Stegbauer This is NOT solution. This problem is solved by @Emre-Guldogan's answer below (superuser.com/a/1526277/48426) which describes a gap between the screens on the Display Settings applet.
Sep 17, 2020 at 1:10 comment added Craig This has been an bug with Windows 10 for 5 years now. There is a big thread on Microsoft's site that goes on for 121 pages of comments. I only experience this when I'm in a VM. Someone mentioned it to be a 28 pixel black hole that your mouse cursor gets stuck in. I'm shocked that Microsoft hasn't done anything to fix this.
Apr 25, 2020 at 1:52 comment added PatS I've had this problem as well. I have three monitors. Laptop #1 (is SurfacePro), 2nd Monitor is above laptop, and 3rd monitor is to the right of the 2nd monitor. Movement from #1 to #2 is without a problem (no stickyness when moving cursor between #1 to #2, or #2 to #1), but when moving from #2 to #3, the cursor is sticky and won't move to the other monitor until I've moved cursor at a "fast rate". It is quite annoying.
Oct 24, 2018 at 1:10 comment added 3D1T0R No. "Duplicate" mode shows the same thing on each monitor. i.sstatic.net/n54OJ.png ... Those images were of "Extend" mode with one monitor moved 'up' in comparison to the other so that they're offset a bit but still effectively side by side. This matches the physical layout of my monitors so that windows that dragging between them is more natural, and windows don't look broken when they cross the border. i.sstatic.net/ikeTc.jpg
Oct 23, 2018 at 18:14 comment added Albin interesting which multi monitor mode do you use? in you're screenshot it looks like you use duplicate mode?!
Oct 23, 2018 at 18:07 comment added 3D1T0R Note: If I had 4 monitors in a 2x2 grid pattern, with the center corners together, these corners would not trigger this feature as they aren't at the edge of the display area, but the corners around the outside edges would.
Oct 23, 2018 at 18:07 comment added 3D1T0R This feature gets triggered on corners of a monitor where one edge of the monitor is also the edge of the display area. So if I adjust my settings so the bottoms of the two monitors line up... the red arrows in this image show where this feature gets triggered, the red line shows an edge where your cursor will stop because there's nowhere for it to go, and the green arrow shows that if you slide your cursor downward along the red edge, this feature won't trigger there, since it's not the corner of the monitor you're leaving: i.sstatic.net/A3nzy.png
Oct 23, 2018 at 18:06 comment added 3D1T0R I actually meant the display area, by which I mean the area displayed on a monitor. If my settings look like this: i.sstatic.net/U3JLB.png & my desktop background is white & I stick some windows over the edges of my monitors you can see what is/isn't part of the display area: i.sstatic.net/6MIvr.png.
Oct 23, 2018 at 18:04 history edited 3D1T0R CC BY-SA 4.0
I meant display area, not working area. The working area doesn't include the taskbar; the display area does.
Oct 23, 2018 at 18:03 comment added 3D1T0R @Albin: Sorry, I actually used the wrong term. I'll edit my answer.
Oct 23, 2018 at 11:00 comment added Albin Interesting, I haven't noticed this so far, does it work for "every corner"? Just to clarify, what do you mean by working area? The desktop excluding the taskbar or excluding docked windows/toolbars as well?
Oct 19, 2018 at 19:33 history answered 3D1T0R CC BY-SA 4.0