Skip to main content
added 84 characters in body
Source Link

I'm trying to SSH to Ubuntu server I have in another city. The IP address for that server is something like 129.123.x.xxx. I use windows and cmder to connect to Ubuntu. When I use my campus vpn which changes my ip address to 129.123.y.yyy, I have no problem and the command ssh [email protected] works in cmder. But when I disconnect the vpn and my ip changes to the ips here in another city to 208.234.z.zzz and I try the command ssh [email protected], it won't work and gives the error of connection timed out. What's wrong with this? If the port 22 is not open then it shouldn't also work with vpn. How come it only works with the vpn? and what is the solution?

ANSWER: both of the answers below are very informative. But I had to choose one.

I'm trying to SSH to Ubuntu server I have in another city. The IP address for that server is something like 129.123.x.xxx. I use windows and cmder to connect to Ubuntu. When I use my campus vpn which changes my ip address to 129.123.y.yyy, I have no problem and the command ssh [email protected] works in cmder. But when I disconnect the vpn and my ip changes to the ips here in another city to 208.234.z.zzz and I try the command ssh [email protected], it won't work and gives the error of connection timed out. What's wrong with this? If the port 22 is not open then it shouldn't also work with vpn. How come it only works with the vpn? and what is the solution?

I'm trying to SSH to Ubuntu server I have in another city. The IP address for that server is something like 129.123.x.xxx. I use windows and cmder to connect to Ubuntu. When I use my campus vpn which changes my ip address to 129.123.y.yyy, I have no problem and the command ssh [email protected] works in cmder. But when I disconnect the vpn and my ip changes to the ips here in another city to 208.234.z.zzz and I try the command ssh [email protected], it won't work and gives the error of connection timed out. What's wrong with this? If the port 22 is not open then it shouldn't also work with vpn. How come it only works with the vpn? and what is the solution?

ANSWER: both of the answers below are very informative. But I had to choose one.

Source Link

ssh to Ubuntu 18.04 connection timed out

I'm trying to SSH to Ubuntu server I have in another city. The IP address for that server is something like 129.123.x.xxx. I use windows and cmder to connect to Ubuntu. When I use my campus vpn which changes my ip address to 129.123.y.yyy, I have no problem and the command ssh [email protected] works in cmder. But when I disconnect the vpn and my ip changes to the ips here in another city to 208.234.z.zzz and I try the command ssh [email protected], it won't work and gives the error of connection timed out. What's wrong with this? If the port 22 is not open then it shouldn't also work with vpn. How come it only works with the vpn? and what is the solution?