Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 10, 2021 at 2:44 comment added Nicholas Barry One reason I'd prefer the feature requested in the question is that it would preserve the original text color. Though of course if that feature doesn't exist anywhere, then using grep still sounds helpful.
Mar 4, 2021 at 20:17 answer added opsb timeline score: 0
Oct 16, 2018 at 19:40 comment added Spiff I understand exactly what you want, but I don't know whether Terminal.app or iTerm2 provide a GUI way to do it (which is why I didn't post an Answer), so I provided a way to do something very similar in any terminal emulator. Namely: select all, copy, (optionally open a new window here), use the "pbpaste" command to send the pasteboard (clipboard) contents to stdout, pipe it to grep and have grep filter on your string or regex, (optionally close the new window here). It's not as sweet as what you want, but it might be a decent workaround.
Oct 16, 2018 at 19:16 comment added Alexander Mills I guess I have to make a video to get it across. I can increase the buffer size to 100K lines which is more than enough. What I am trying to do - when I search for "fooxoaogeg" I only want the one line that matches that to show up in the terminal, then when I undo the filter, all the unmatched lines reappear on the screen.
Oct 16, 2018 at 18:36 comment added Spiff Oh, so you have output in the terminal emulator's scrollback buffer that you can't regenerate? That's a bummer. You could always do Cmd-A, Cmd-C, pbpaste | grep somesearchstring.
Oct 16, 2018 at 18:30 comment added Alexander Mills grep can't do dynamic filter like that and I can't afford to restart the process, should I just shut down the server? Makes no sense. I know what you are saying, but only an end-user application that actually displays the text can do this AFAICT.
Oct 16, 2018 at 18:30 comment added Spiff My inner Unix greybeard says you should be using tools like grep to do this rather than relying on features of your terminal emulator.
Oct 16, 2018 at 17:51 history asked Alexander Mills CC BY-SA 4.0