Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Minor formatting tweak, and made image embedded rather than linked (for easy viewing)
Source Link

I know this is a very old question, but I've run into the same problem over and over again throughout the years, thought I fixed it each time, and each time figured out I did not. Since it still shows up in Google, I decided I'd share my fix for anyone who comes here later.

In issues like this, there's usually some scheduled tasks in Task Scheduler that are the culprit for waking the PC to run tasks that no one would normally consider necessary to wake up the PC and heat up your room all night long so you wake up sweaty.

I've found the way to search for all the ones that can wake your PC up. This is the answer I've been looking for for years.

So, Open up Powershell and run this command:

Get-ScheduledTask | where {$_.settings.waketorun}

Get-ScheduledTask | where {$_.settings.waketorun}

Got this information from here.

Here's my results: powershell results

Powershell Tasks That Wake PC

As you can see I had already found and disabled two of them previously. The other two I looked up the target exe files to make sure I wasn't disabling something that would cripple the system, and went ahead and disabled them in task scheduler. I also changed many settings inside them to make sure I wouldn't be affected by them much if the system reenablesre-enables them later, especially turning off "Wake the computer to run this task" (my PC has always found ways to reenablere-enable tasks I disabled).

I'm assuming from the format of this command that you should also be able to filter with any other setting from the tasks settings window you have in mind.

I know this is a very old question, but I've run into the same problem over and over again throughout the years, thought I fixed it each time, and each time figured out I did not. Since it still shows up in Google, I decided I'd share my fix for anyone who comes here later.

In issues like this, there's usually some scheduled tasks in Task Scheduler that are the culprit for waking the PC to run tasks that no one would normally consider necessary to wake up the PC and heat up your room all night long so you wake up sweaty.

I've found the way to search for all the ones that can wake your PC up. This is the answer I've been looking for for years.

So, Open up Powershell and run this command:

Get-ScheduledTask | where {$_.settings.waketorun}

Got this information from here

Here's my results: powershell results

As you can see I had already found and disabled two of them previously. The other two I looked up the target exe files to make sure I wasn't disabling something that would cripple the system, and went ahead and disabled them in task scheduler. I also changed many settings inside them to make sure I wouldn't be affected by them much if the system reenables them later, especially turning off "Wake the computer to run this task" (my PC has always found ways to reenable tasks I disabled).

I'm assuming from the format of this command that you should also be able to filter with any other setting from the tasks settings window you have in mind.

I know this is a very old question, but I've run into the same problem over and over again throughout the years, thought I fixed it each time, and each time figured out I did not. Since it still shows up in Google, I decided I'd share my fix for anyone who comes here later.

In issues like this, there's usually some scheduled tasks in Task Scheduler that are the culprit for waking the PC to run tasks that no one would normally consider necessary to wake up the PC and heat up your room all night long so you wake up sweaty.

I've found the way to search for all the ones that can wake your PC up. This is the answer I've been looking for for years.

So, Open up Powershell and run this command:

Get-ScheduledTask | where {$_.settings.waketorun}

Got this information from here.

Here's my results:

Powershell Tasks That Wake PC

As you can see I had already found and disabled two of them previously. The other two I looked up the target exe files to make sure I wasn't disabling something that would cripple the system, and went ahead and disabled them in task scheduler. I also changed many settings inside them to make sure I wouldn't be affected by them much if the system re-enables them later, especially turning off "Wake the computer to run this task" (my PC has always found ways to re-enable tasks I disabled).

I'm assuming from the format of this command that you should also be able to filter with any other setting from the tasks settings window you have in mind.

Source Link

I know this is a very old question, but I've run into the same problem over and over again throughout the years, thought I fixed it each time, and each time figured out I did not. Since it still shows up in Google, I decided I'd share my fix for anyone who comes here later.

In issues like this, there's usually some scheduled tasks in Task Scheduler that are the culprit for waking the PC to run tasks that no one would normally consider necessary to wake up the PC and heat up your room all night long so you wake up sweaty.

I've found the way to search for all the ones that can wake your PC up. This is the answer I've been looking for for years.

So, Open up Powershell and run this command:

Get-ScheduledTask | where {$_.settings.waketorun}

Got this information from here

Here's my results: powershell results

As you can see I had already found and disabled two of them previously. The other two I looked up the target exe files to make sure I wasn't disabling something that would cripple the system, and went ahead and disabled them in task scheduler. I also changed many settings inside them to make sure I wouldn't be affected by them much if the system reenables them later, especially turning off "Wake the computer to run this task" (my PC has always found ways to reenable tasks I disabled).

I'm assuming from the format of this command that you should also be able to filter with any other setting from the tasks settings window you have in mind.