Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 396 characters in body
Source Link
Emilijus
  • 23
  • 1
  • 5

Wi-Fi stopped working abruptly (was working fine previously) while using Dell Inspiron 5548 laptop. It has Intel AC-3160 Wi-Fi card originally.

  1. I dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu 18.10. It doesn't work in either.
  2. In Ubuntu it just shows that Wi-Fi is off and 'turn on' button does nothing. In Windows device information shows that device is working properly, but it shows no networks around.
  3. There's Bluetooth on the very same Intel AC-3160 card and it works fine.
  4. I tried inserting Intel AC-8265 Wi-Fi card (should be compatible with my laptop), but it produces exact same results.

I am sure that's not enough information, but the main reason I am writing here is to get some troubleshooting tips, as I am not sure how to find out the exact problem.

Edit:

I managed to turn on Wi-Fi interface via terminal on Ubuntu (still says off in UI though) and it can even scan for networks around. I've actually already bought USB Wi-Fi adapter, and while it works on Windows, it behaves similarly to integrated card on Ubuntu (can't turn on through UI, but can turn on and scan for networks in terminal)(I've installed drivers for USB adapter)

Wi-Fi stopped working abruptly (was working fine previously) while using Dell Inspiron 5548 laptop. It has Intel AC-3160 Wi-Fi card originally.

  1. I dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu 18.10. It doesn't work in either.
  2. In Ubuntu it just shows that Wi-Fi is off and 'turn on' button does nothing. In Windows device information shows that device is working properly, but it shows no networks around.
  3. There's Bluetooth on the very same Intel AC-3160 card and it works fine.
  4. I tried inserting Intel AC-8265 Wi-Fi card (should be compatible with my laptop), but it produces exact same results.

I am sure that's not enough information, but the main reason I am writing here is to get some troubleshooting tips, as I am not sure how to find out the exact problem.

Wi-Fi stopped working abruptly (was working fine previously) while using Dell Inspiron 5548 laptop. It has Intel AC-3160 Wi-Fi card originally.

  1. I dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu 18.10. It doesn't work in either.
  2. In Ubuntu it just shows that Wi-Fi is off and 'turn on' button does nothing. In Windows device information shows that device is working properly, but it shows no networks around.
  3. There's Bluetooth on the very same Intel AC-3160 card and it works fine.
  4. I tried inserting Intel AC-8265 Wi-Fi card (should be compatible with my laptop), but it produces exact same results.

I am sure that's not enough information, but the main reason I am writing here is to get some troubleshooting tips, as I am not sure how to find out the exact problem.

Edit:

I managed to turn on Wi-Fi interface via terminal on Ubuntu (still says off in UI though) and it can even scan for networks around. I've actually already bought USB Wi-Fi adapter, and while it works on Windows, it behaves similarly to integrated card on Ubuntu (can't turn on through UI, but can turn on and scan for networks in terminal)(I've installed drivers for USB adapter)

Source Link
Emilijus
  • 23
  • 1
  • 5

Troubleshooting Wi-Fi not working in laptop

Wi-Fi stopped working abruptly (was working fine previously) while using Dell Inspiron 5548 laptop. It has Intel AC-3160 Wi-Fi card originally.

  1. I dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu 18.10. It doesn't work in either.
  2. In Ubuntu it just shows that Wi-Fi is off and 'turn on' button does nothing. In Windows device information shows that device is working properly, but it shows no networks around.
  3. There's Bluetooth on the very same Intel AC-3160 card and it works fine.
  4. I tried inserting Intel AC-8265 Wi-Fi card (should be compatible with my laptop), but it produces exact same results.

I am sure that's not enough information, but the main reason I am writing here is to get some troubleshooting tips, as I am not sure how to find out the exact problem.