Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
16 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 9, 2023 at 4:34 comment added Randy Stegbauer @Albin, we will clearly never agree. I un-down-voted your answer to another question. The actual and best answer is the one just below (with nine upvotes right now), which is why I up-voted it. And all for a five year old question. I must be bored. Peace to you.
Nov 8, 2023 at 23:00 comment added Albin @RandyStegbauer No, it's not the answer to a different question. You have to differentiate between "visible" issues and the "invisible" underlying problems. The issues described in the question can and do originate from different problems therefore requiring different answers. Apparently, the problem I associate with the symptoms seems to resonate with a lot of other users (including myself, I had the same question and the solution I described in my answer solved my particular problem).
Nov 8, 2023 at 22:53 history edited Albin CC BY-SA 4.0
added 2 characters in body
Nov 8, 2023 at 14:50 comment added Randy Stegbauer @Albin, my only goal is to help users with problems find solutions. I'm completely confused about your "personal note" comment above. I didn't downvote the question. I down voted your answer because it ANSWERED a different question. The important point of the question is "I need to really insist by making huge moves to make the pointer finally cross over to the other monitor." Your answer solves the problem where it is IMPOSSIBLE to move the mouse from one screen to the next. Regardless, this should be moved to meta. I'll remove my downvote, but sadly SO won't let me. :-(
Nov 8, 2023 at 4:05 comment added Albin @RandyStegbauer On a personal note, I think, there is no need to artificially downvote questions, it will sort itself out by the community upvoting the answer that solves the problem in the majority of the cases described by the symptoms in the question (sometimes this might even differ from the accepted answer). I do downvote as well, but usually only on answers that need to be improved (and I always leave a comment on how to improve them). But of course, the final choice is yours, but I hope you make it with the common goal in mind.
Nov 8, 2023 at 4:05 comment added Albin @RandyStegbauer Your statement that this is not the solution might apply to you but not necessarily to other users: As long as a question describes symptoms and not the cause (which is often the case) multiple answers are valid depending on the actual underlying problem as there might be different problems for the same symptoms. It doesn't mean that they should be moved to a different question, on the contrary, they do help a lot of users who have this very question.
Nov 8, 2023 at 2:33 comment added Randy Stegbauer @Albin, I down voted it because it didn't answer the question asked. It is a perfectly great answer to a different question. Additionally, since your "answer" has the highest vote, if a person comes here hoping to find the answer to their question, they might not notice the applicable answer to their question. This was exactly the situation I was in. You should move your great answer to an applicable question. All that said, am I missing something? Is your answer valid to this question and I'm being thick-headed? If so, explain and I'll delete my comments.
Nov 7, 2023 at 21:03 comment added Albin @RandyStegbauer Of course you are free to downvote it, but I would appreciate some constructive criticism on how to improve it. After all, we are all here to help each other and should support us.
Nov 7, 2023 at 21:03 comment added Albin @RandyStegbauer Please read the comments, Drake already said that this is not the issue for his problem, but it's a helpful solution in many other cases! There might be different solutions for the same symptoms or even the same problem, that's the reason why it is possible to give more than one answer to a question.
Nov 7, 2023 at 14:08 comment added Randy Stegbauer This is NOT solution. This problem is solved by @Emre-Guldogan's answer below (superuser.com/a/1526277/48426) which describes a gap between the screens on the Display Settings applet.
Aug 5, 2021 at 13:30 comment added Rosdi I spent whole day scratching my head over day. Why can't Windows approximate the location and move the cursor to the nearest possible pixel? I don't think anyone would expect the mouse cursor to be on the exact spot. This is not intuitive at all.
Oct 19, 2018 at 1:11 comment added DrZoo @drake035 Albin does have a good point, and your description of the vertical jump makes it seem like there is some setting that is a bit off. Whether it's the resolution or the monitor 1, monitor 2 that is in the screenshot. I sometimes encounter the same behavior, but only when dragging a window from one monitor to the next.
Oct 15, 2018 at 11:35 comment added Albin @drake035 as I already commented on your're answer, we need to make sure what the resolution and the alignment in you're advanced display settings are. Would be nice if you could either describe it or post a screen shot.
Oct 15, 2018 at 11:06 comment added drake035 Thanks but this is not the issue I'm afraid. Right now, when I move the pointer from one monitor to the other, indeed there's a 10cm vertical jump occuring (left monitor is horizontal, left vertical). That's not a problem for me and that's not my question. My problem is that occasionally, the pointer literally STAYS STUCK along the edge of my vertical monitor and I have to make huge moves so that finally it passes to the other monitor. As I said, it occurs sporadically only.
Oct 13, 2018 at 8:42 history edited Albin CC BY-SA 4.0
added 252 characters in body
Oct 5, 2018 at 21:36 history answered Albin CC BY-SA 4.0