Skip to main content
Cleanup.
Source Link

I have a laptop with Ubuntu as the main OS  . Inside Ubuntu iI use VMWareVMware Workstation on which iI have a Windows 7 VM. Inside this Win7 VM iI used a USB drive to store some , important data. I Movedmoved the data from the VM to the USB drive  , powered off the VM  , powered off the laptop  , unplugged the USB drive and put it in my PC which also runs Kubuntu. In my PC the the files on the USB won't show up (in the file exploredexplorer). If iI issue "ls -larth /path/to/my/usb" the files appear as corrupted or something , isomething; I don't remember exactly the message. I

I unplugged the USB drive from the Kubuntu PC and put it back into the Win7 VM to find out that the files are gone (won't appear in explorer)  . At this point iI said "Fuck my life..." "Aw, shucks". I used chkdsk /f :echkdsk /f :e to repair the files on the USB drive. chkdsk told me  : "first allocation unit is not valid. The entry will be truncated. Convert lost chains to files (Y/N) ?" here iHere I answered "Y". After this iI looked on the USB drive and there were no files there  . What can iI do in this situation  ? help pls ! i will give a beer to anyone who can help me recover the files.

I have a laptop with Ubuntu as main OS  . Inside Ubuntu i use VMWare Workstation on which i have a Windows 7 VM. Inside this Win7 VM i used a USB drive to store some , important data. I Moved the data from VM to USB drive  , powered off the VM  , powered off the laptop  , unplugged the USB drive and put it in my PC which also runs Kubuntu. In my PC the the files on the USB won't show up (in the file explored). If i issue "ls -larth /path/to/my/usb" the files appear as corrupted or something , i don't remember exactly the message. I unplugged the USB drive from the Kubuntu PC and put it back into the Win7 VM to find out that the files are gone (won't appear in explorer)  . At this point i said "Fuck my life..." . I used chkdsk /f :e to repair the files on the USB drive. chkdsk told me  : "first allocation unit is not valid. The entry will be truncated. Convert lost chains to files (Y/N) ?" here i answered "Y". After this i looked on the USB drive and there were no files there  . What can i do in this situation  ? help pls ! i will give a beer to anyone who can help me recover the files.

I have a laptop with Ubuntu as the main OS. Inside Ubuntu I use VMware Workstation on which I have a Windows 7 VM. Inside this Win7 VM I used a USB drive to store some important data. I moved the data from the VM to the USB drive, powered off the VM, powered off the laptop, unplugged the USB drive and put it in my PC which also runs Kubuntu. In my PC the the files on the USB won't show up (in the file explorer). If I issue "ls -larth /path/to/my/usb" the files appear as corrupted or something; I don't remember exactly the message.

I unplugged the USB drive from the Kubuntu PC and put it back into the Win7 VM to find out that the files are gone (won't appear in explorer). At this point I said "Aw, shucks". I used chkdsk /f :e to repair the files on the USB drive. chkdsk told me: "first allocation unit is not valid. The entry will be truncated. Convert lost chains to files (Y/N) ?" Here I answered "Y". After this I looked on the USB drive and there were no files there. What can I do in this situation?

Source Link

Lost files after running chkdsk /f :e

I have a laptop with Ubuntu as main OS . Inside Ubuntu i use VMWare Workstation on which i have a Windows 7 VM. Inside this Win7 VM i used a USB drive to store some , important data. I Moved the data from VM to USB drive , powered off the VM , powered off the laptop , unplugged the USB drive and put it in my PC which also runs Kubuntu. In my PC the the files on the USB won't show up (in the file explored). If i issue "ls -larth /path/to/my/usb" the files appear as corrupted or something , i don't remember exactly the message. I unplugged the USB drive from the Kubuntu PC and put it back into the Win7 VM to find out that the files are gone (won't appear in explorer) . At this point i said "Fuck my life..." . I used chkdsk /f :e to repair the files on the USB drive. chkdsk told me : "first allocation unit is not valid. The entry will be truncated. Convert lost chains to files (Y/N) ?" here i answered "Y". After this i looked on the USB drive and there were no files there . What can i do in this situation ? help pls ! i will give a beer to anyone who can help me recover the files.