Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • 5
    Running perl -pi -e 's/exit_type\":\"Crashed/exit_type\":\"none/' ~/.config/google-chrome/Default/Preferences does the trick for me on Ubuntu. Executing this whenever your graphical environment starts gets rid of the Chrome warning for good, without having to change the file to readonly. (Someone could make this an answer, I am lacking the rep …)
    – panepeter
    Commented May 8, 2019 at 7:46
  • 1
    Thanks this seems to work more than one year later.
    – Snak3d0c
    Commented Jun 20, 2019 at 7:34
  • @panepeter would this then disable the Restore functionality? What I want is for Chrome to restart on its own to where I was. What I don't want it is to ask me if I want to restore - why did I think it crashed in the first place? It doesn't do that in Windows/Mac.
    – Zlatko
    Commented Sep 8, 2019 at 13:05
  • 2
    @Zlatko sorry I'm never using the restore functionality, I expect my chrome to start with a blank tab and no annoying warning, and this solution does that exactly. Why not give it a try and see if it works for your setup? Nothing to lose here …
    – panepeter
    Commented Sep 8, 2019 at 13:48
  • Well I frequently do have several tabs open where I want them and starting blank would alter my workflow. I'll see how I can adjust, thanks for the help.
    – Zlatko
    Commented Sep 9, 2019 at 14:04