Skip to main content
Copy edits.
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

Migration from HDD to SSD - PC won't boot from SSD after migration from HDD to SSD

I'm running Windows 10 on an HP Envy 700-311na and I installed an SSD and cloned my C:/ drive to it using EaseUS ToDo. My plan was to restart my PC, go into the BIOS and change the boot drive to Z:/ (the SSD), boot from the SSD, then format the HDD to use for storage and installing less crucial software.

However, the SSD is not appearing anywhere in the BIOS (Windows Boot Manager is the default boot option). I even tried disconnecting the HDD altogether, but it just gave a boot disk not found error.

Any ideas?

Thanks

EDIT: If it helps, I'm running Windows 10 on an HP Envy 700-311na

Migration from HDD to SSD - PC won't boot from SSD

I installed an SSD and cloned my C:/ drive to it using EaseUS ToDo. My plan was to restart my PC, go into the BIOS and change the boot drive to Z:/ (the SSD), boot from the SSD, then format the HDD to use for storage and installing less crucial software.

However, the SSD is not appearing anywhere in the BIOS (Windows Boot Manager is the default boot option). I even tried disconnecting the HDD altogether, but it just gave a boot disk not found error.

Any ideas?

Thanks

EDIT: If it helps, I'm running Windows 10 on an HP Envy 700-311na

PC won't boot from SSD after migration from HDD to SSD

I'm running Windows 10 on an HP Envy 700-311na and I installed an SSD and cloned my C:/ drive to it using EaseUS ToDo. My plan was to restart my PC, go into the BIOS and change the boot drive to Z:/ (the SSD), boot from the SSD, then format the HDD to use for storage and installing less crucial software.

However, the SSD is not appearing anywhere in the BIOS (Windows Boot Manager is the default boot option). I even tried disconnecting the HDD altogether, but it just gave a boot disk not found error.

Any ideas?

Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Source Link
AJT
  • 111
  • 1
  • 5

Migration from HDD to SSD - PC won't boot from SSD

I installed an SSD and cloned my C:/ drive to it using EaseUS ToDo. My plan was to restart my PC, go into the BIOS and change the boot drive to Z:/ (the SSD), boot from the SSD, then format the HDD to use for storage and installing less crucial software.

However, the SSD is not appearing anywhere in the BIOS (Windows Boot Manager is the default boot option). I even tried disconnecting the HDD altogether, but it just gave a boot disk not found error.

Any ideas?

Thanks

EDIT: If it helps, I'm running Windows 10 on an HP Envy 700-311na