Skip to main content
removed "Quantum" from Firefox name
Source Link
turnip
  • 361
  • 1
  • 4
  • 13

When I search for things in Windows 10, the (web) results open up in Microsoft Edge with the Bing search engine.

I want the results to open in my default browser, Firefox, in my default search engine, DuckDuckGo.

What I have tried:

  • extensions: either not compatible with Firefox Quantum or just didn't work
  • changing Firefox config value browser.search.redirectWindowsSearch to true
  • "uninstalling" Edge: because Microsoft don't give you a nice of way of doing this (at least with the latest feature update (version 1803)), I deleted the folder from the app directory. Now web search results are basically broken: it still tries to open Edge and it obviously fails.

Surely there is Registry edit that can save me from this.

When I search for things in Windows 10, the (web) results open up in Microsoft Edge with the Bing search engine.

I want the results to open in my default browser, Firefox, in my default search engine, DuckDuckGo.

What I have tried:

  • extensions: either not compatible with Firefox Quantum or just didn't work
  • changing Firefox config value browser.search.redirectWindowsSearch to true
  • "uninstalling" Edge: because Microsoft don't give you a nice of way of doing this (at least with the latest feature update (version 1803)), I deleted the folder from the app directory. Now web search results are basically broken: it still tries to open Edge and it obviously fails.

Surely there is Registry edit that can save me from this.

When I search for things in Windows 10, the (web) results open up in Microsoft Edge with the Bing search engine.

I want the results to open in my default browser, Firefox, in my default search engine, DuckDuckGo.

What I have tried:

  • extensions: either not compatible with Firefox or just didn't work
  • changing Firefox config value browser.search.redirectWindowsSearch to true
  • "uninstalling" Edge: because Microsoft don't give you a nice of way of doing this (at least with the latest feature update (version 1803)), I deleted the folder from the app directory. Now web search results are basically broken: it still tries to open Edge and it obviously fails.

Surely there is Registry edit that can save me from this.

Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1394805088925925379
deleted 30 characters in body
Source Link
turnip
  • 361
  • 1
  • 4
  • 13

When I search for things in Windows 10, the (web) results open up in Microsoft Edge with the Bing search engine.

I want the results to open in my default browser, Firefox Quantum (61.0.1 (64-bit)), in my default search engine, DuckDuckGo.

What I have tried:

  • extensions: either not compatible with Firefox Quantum or just didn't work
  • changing Firefox config value browser.search.redirectWindowsSearch to true
  • "uninstalling" Edge: because Microsoft don't give you a nice of way of doing this (at least with the latest feature update (version 1803)), I deleted the folder from the app directory. Now web search results are basically broken: it still tries to open Edge and it obviously fails.

Surely there is Registry edit that can save me from this.

When I search for things in Windows 10, the (web) results open up in Microsoft Edge with the Bing search engine.

I want the results to open in my default browser, Firefox Quantum (61.0.1 (64-bit)), in my default search engine, DuckDuckGo.

What I have tried:

  • extensions: either not compatible with Firefox Quantum or just didn't work
  • changing Firefox config value browser.search.redirectWindowsSearch to true
  • "uninstalling" Edge: because Microsoft don't give you a nice of way of doing this (at least with the latest feature update (version 1803)), I deleted the folder from the app directory. Now web search results are basically broken: it still tries to open Edge and it obviously fails.

Surely there is Registry edit that can save me from this.

When I search for things in Windows 10, the (web) results open up in Microsoft Edge with the Bing search engine.

I want the results to open in my default browser, Firefox, in my default search engine, DuckDuckGo.

What I have tried:

  • extensions: either not compatible with Firefox Quantum or just didn't work
  • changing Firefox config value browser.search.redirectWindowsSearch to true
  • "uninstalling" Edge: because Microsoft don't give you a nice of way of doing this (at least with the latest feature update (version 1803)), I deleted the folder from the app directory. Now web search results are basically broken: it still tries to open Edge and it obviously fails.

Surely there is Registry edit that can save me from this.

Source Link
turnip
  • 361
  • 1
  • 4
  • 13

How to change the browser used for web results in Windows 10 Search

When I search for things in Windows 10, the (web) results open up in Microsoft Edge with the Bing search engine.

I want the results to open in my default browser, Firefox Quantum (61.0.1 (64-bit)), in my default search engine, DuckDuckGo.

What I have tried:

  • extensions: either not compatible with Firefox Quantum or just didn't work
  • changing Firefox config value browser.search.redirectWindowsSearch to true
  • "uninstalling" Edge: because Microsoft don't give you a nice of way of doing this (at least with the latest feature update (version 1803)), I deleted the folder from the app directory. Now web search results are basically broken: it still tries to open Edge and it obviously fails.

Surely there is Registry edit that can save me from this.