Skip to main content
deleted 392 characters in body
Source Link
shenk
  • 309
  • 2
  • 3
  • 10

I find it very difficult to kill explorer in windows 10 when it locks up. I had to write a batch script to do so and add it to path.

But I also have an issue whereOften times, task view will freeze and hang on one of the two monitors indefinitely. I can't switch to any other windows and even Even though I can open task manager in with ctrl+shift+esc or through ctrl+alt+del, I cannot see as it appears to be behind the frozen task view. I It does appear in the task bar and I can however use win+right arrow to move it to my other monitor and then use it there. However, I can only do this after hitting esc and sometimes ctrl+alt+del in order to clear up the second monitor which also has task view frozen on it at first.

Sorry for the somewhat convoluted explanation butTask view itself it just completely unresponsive and unless I kill explorer I'm not sure how elseunable to describe the issuereturn to my desktop.

My question is: Any ideas what is the process name for the Task Viewcould be causing this behavior? Is it justtask view part of the explorer.exe process or does it have its own?

On a side note, why is it that Windows 10 doesn'tMy system's configuration and installed programs have explorerremained the same for quite a while now.exe on I'm not sure what could possibly be causing the process list like in other versions of Windows? What does Windows 10 do differently to cause this?behavior.

I find it very difficult to kill explorer in windows 10 when it locks up. I had to write a batch script to do so and add it to path.

But I also have an issue where task view will freeze and hang on one of the monitors indefinitely. I can't switch to any other windows and even though I can open task manager with ctrl+shift+esc or through ctrl+alt+del, I cannot see as it appears to be behind the frozen task view. I can however use win+right arrow to move it to my other monitor and then use it there. However, I can only do this after hitting esc and sometimes ctrl+alt+del in order to clear up the second monitor which also has task view frozen on it at first.

Sorry for the somewhat convoluted explanation but I'm not sure how else to describe the issue.

My question is: what is the process name for the Task View? Is it just part of explorer.exe?

On a side note, why is it that Windows 10 doesn't have explorer.exe on the process list like in other versions of Windows? What does Windows 10 do differently to cause this?

Often times, task view will freeze and hang on one of the two monitors. Even though I can open task manager in with ctrl+shift+esc or through ctrl+alt+del, I cannot see as it appears to be behind the frozen task view. It does appear in the task bar and I can use win+right arrow to move it to my other monitor and then use it there.

Task view itself it just completely unresponsive and unless I kill explorer I'm unable to return to my desktop. Any ideas what could be causing this behavior? Is task view part of the explorer process or does it have its own?

My system's configuration and installed programs have remained the same for quite a while now. I'm not sure what could possibly be causing the behavior.

Source Link
shenk
  • 309
  • 2
  • 3
  • 10

Win 10 Task View Process

I find it very difficult to kill explorer in windows 10 when it locks up. I had to write a batch script to do so and add it to path.

But I also have an issue where task view will freeze and hang on one of the monitors indefinitely. I can't switch to any other windows and even though I can open task manager with ctrl+shift+esc or through ctrl+alt+del, I cannot see as it appears to be behind the frozen task view. I can however use win+right arrow to move it to my other monitor and then use it there. However, I can only do this after hitting esc and sometimes ctrl+alt+del in order to clear up the second monitor which also has task view frozen on it at first.

Sorry for the somewhat convoluted explanation but I'm not sure how else to describe the issue.

My question is: what is the process name for the Task View? Is it just part of explorer.exe?

On a side note, why is it that Windows 10 doesn't have explorer.exe on the process list like in other versions of Windows? What does Windows 10 do differently to cause this?