Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • That makes sense. But I have a doubt. I found this simple static web server called fenix server. It makes your local development publicly accessible by assigning it a temporary domain name on localtunnel which essentially points to your IP address. How come this works if I am behind a CGN?
    – Yashas
    Commented Jun 21, 2018 at 18:41
  • Erm, execpt for it doesn't actually point to your address. You are creating a outbound connection, (the ssh tunnel) tunnel.me which is on a FQDN webserver that is using the ssh tunnel to reach your Fenix instance. Don't be confused by this, it's a service for people who don't know how to port-forward, or people in your situation that do not have a public IP. This can be verified by doing a whois lookup on the domain name address it gives you. It's pretty well explained in this video. youtu.be/liYneTTtYhM Commented Jun 21, 2018 at 18:54
  • 1
    I kinda get it. But I am unfamiliar with SSH tunnels and how the tunnel is used to reach the fenix instance on my laptop. If you know any resources that explain these concepts, please do share. Thanks a lot for you help!
    – Yashas
    Commented Jun 21, 2018 at 19:10
  • Absolutely, I have heard it called reverse ssh tunneling before. I'm sure you could find plenty of reading material on Google for bidirectional ssh tunneling. Here is a pretty good answer on the subject. unix.stackexchange.com/questions/46235/… Commented Jun 21, 2018 at 19:15
  • 1
    Oh, I didn't know about aws tier 1. It's amazing. It'll help a lot in learning. Thanks for letting me know. Networking is pretty awesome. I am still pretty psyched about Reverse SSH tunneling.
    – Yashas
    Commented Jun 22, 2018 at 12:42