Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1228152101450272768
Improved list formatting.
Source Link
AFH
  • 17.7k
  • 3
  • 34
  • 48

I have a Ubee cable modem (DOCSIS 3.0) which also serves as a wired/wireless router and DHCP server. I have devices which are on the LAN and receiving addresses from the Ubee that I can't ping from other devices also on the LAN. Example

Example:

  • Computer A (static IP 192.168.0.50 wired connection)

    Computer A (static IP 192.168.0.50 wired connection)
  • Computer B (DHCP IP 192.168.0.83 wireless connection)

    Computer B (DHCP IP 192.168.0.83 wireless connection)
  • Computer C (static IP 192.168.0.203 wireless connection)

    Computer C (static IP 192.168.0.203 wireless connection)
  • Ubee (static IP 192.168.0.1)

    Ubee (static IP 192.168.0.1)

Results:

  • Computer A can ping Ubee and Computer C (Can't ping B)

    Computer A can ping Ubee and Computer C (Can't ping B)
  • Computer C Can ping Computers A and B and Ubee

    Computer C Can ping Computers A and B and Ubee
  • Ubee can ping B and C, but not A which is wired to the Ubee and shows up on the client list

    Ubee can ping B and C, but not A which is wired to the Ubee and shows up on the client list

(Computer B is a microcontroller and is working fine with MQTT) Hope

Hope I have explained this well enough. It's driving me crazy. Is it something about the Ubee, something dumb I'm doing? Thanks for any help. Bob

I have a Ubee cable modem (DOCSIS 3.0) which also serves as a wired/wireless router and DHCP server. I have devices which are on the LAN and receiving addresses from the Ubee that I can't ping from other devices also on the LAN. Example:

  • Computer A (static IP 192.168.0.50 wired connection)

  • Computer B (DHCP IP 192.168.0.83 wireless connection)

  • Computer C (static IP 192.168.0.203 wireless connection)

  • Ubee (static IP 192.168.0.1)

  • Computer A can ping Ubee and Computer C (Can't ping B)

  • Computer C Can ping Computers A and B and Ubee

  • Ubee can ping B and C, but not A which is wired to the Ubee and shows up on the client list

(Computer B is a microcontroller and is working fine with MQTT) Hope I have explained this well enough. It's driving me crazy. Is it something about the Ubee, something dumb I'm doing? Thanks for any help. Bob

I have a Ubee cable modem (DOCSIS 3.0) which also serves as a wired/wireless router and DHCP server. I have devices which are on the LAN and receiving addresses from the Ubee that I can't ping from other devices also on the LAN.

Example:

  • Computer A (static IP 192.168.0.50 wired connection)
  • Computer B (DHCP IP 192.168.0.83 wireless connection)
  • Computer C (static IP 192.168.0.203 wireless connection)
  • Ubee (static IP 192.168.0.1)

Results:

  • Computer A can ping Ubee and Computer C (Can't ping B)
  • Computer C Can ping Computers A and B and Ubee
  • Ubee can ping B and C, but not A which is wired to the Ubee and shows up on the client list

(Computer B is a microcontroller and is working fine with MQTT)

Hope I have explained this well enough. It's driving me crazy. Is it something about the Ubee, something dumb I'm doing? Thanks for any help. Bob

Source Link

Some devices on LAN can't ping other devices

I have a Ubee cable modem (DOCSIS 3.0) which also serves as a wired/wireless router and DHCP server. I have devices which are on the LAN and receiving addresses from the Ubee that I can't ping from other devices also on the LAN. Example:

  • Computer A (static IP 192.168.0.50 wired connection)

  • Computer B (DHCP IP 192.168.0.83 wireless connection)

  • Computer C (static IP 192.168.0.203 wireless connection)

  • Ubee (static IP 192.168.0.1)

  • Computer A can ping Ubee and Computer C (Can't ping B)

  • Computer C Can ping Computers A and B and Ubee

  • Ubee can ping B and C, but not A which is wired to the Ubee and shows up on the client list

(Computer B is a microcontroller and is working fine with MQTT) Hope I have explained this well enough. It's driving me crazy. Is it something about the Ubee, something dumb I'm doing? Thanks for any help. Bob