Skip to main content
added 222 characters in body
Source Link
Zackary
  • 533
  • 4
  • 12
  • 36

I download a lot of .iso files, mostly for Android-x86. However, they (and many other ISO files) randomly show down to 45KB/sec (300-500kbit/sec) when downloading.

I can't figure out what causes the issue. Windows 10, Windows 7, or Linux: still happens. Mirrored file on a different server: still happens. Different browser: still happens. Wi-Fi or Ethernet: still happens. My disk usage is at 0-8% when it happens. I have 3Mb/sec internet from CenturyLink (fastest speed where I live), and a ZyXel PK5001Z router (capable of 100MB/sec). Normally, files download at 325-350KB/sec.

enter image description here

If I let it continue at this horrid speed, it slows down to about 27KB/sec, then to 4.8/9.6KB/sec, and then will sometimes slow to a halt.

Speedtest.net does not reflect these speeds It shows them at near-maximum.

enter image description here

My Internet also jumps to 3.1Mb/sec when I run a speed test.

I do not use a VPN, and I am the only one on my network when it happens.

EDIT: The next day, I had no problem with the same download and mutiple devices on the network. android-x86-5.1-rc1.iso - 293KB/s - 136MB/358MB, 13 minutes left

I download a lot of .iso files, mostly for Android-x86. However, they (and many other ISO files) randomly show down to 45KB/sec (300-500kbit/sec) when downloading.

I can't figure out what causes the issue. Windows 10, Windows 7, or Linux: still happens. Mirrored file on a different server: still happens. Different browser: still happens. Wi-Fi or Ethernet: still happens. My disk usage is at 0-8% when it happens. I have 3Mb/sec internet from CenturyLink (fastest speed where I live), and a ZyXel PK5001Z router (capable of 100MB/sec). Normally, files download at 325-350KB/sec.

enter image description here

If I let it continue at this horrid speed, it slows down to about 27KB/sec, then to 4.8/9.6KB/sec, and then will sometimes slow to a halt.

Speedtest.net does not reflect these speeds It shows them at near-maximum.

enter image description here

My Internet also jumps to 3.1Mb/sec when I run a speed test.

I do not use a VPN, and I am the only one on my network when it happens.

I download a lot of .iso files, mostly for Android-x86. However, they (and many other ISO files) randomly show down to 45KB/sec (300-500kbit/sec) when downloading.

I can't figure out what causes the issue. Windows 10, Windows 7, or Linux: still happens. Mirrored file on a different server: still happens. Different browser: still happens. Wi-Fi or Ethernet: still happens. My disk usage is at 0-8% when it happens. I have 3Mb/sec internet from CenturyLink (fastest speed where I live), and a ZyXel PK5001Z router (capable of 100MB/sec). Normally, files download at 325-350KB/sec.

enter image description here

If I let it continue at this horrid speed, it slows down to about 27KB/sec, then to 4.8/9.6KB/sec, and then will sometimes slow to a halt.

Speedtest.net does not reflect these speeds It shows them at near-maximum.

enter image description here

My Internet also jumps to 3.1Mb/sec when I run a speed test.

I do not use a VPN, and I am the only one on my network when it happens.

EDIT: The next day, I had no problem with the same download and mutiple devices on the network. android-x86-5.1-rc1.iso - 293KB/s - 136MB/358MB, 13 minutes left

Embedded image.
Source Link
music2myear
  • 43.2k
  • 50
  • 89
  • 129

I download a lot of .iso files, mostly for Android-x86. However, they (and many other ISO files) randomly show down to 45KB/sec (300-500kbit/sec) when downloading.

I can't figure out what causes the issue. Windows 10, Windows 7, or Linux: still happens. Mirrored file on a different server: still happens. Different browser: still happens. Wi-Fi or Ethernet: still happens. My disk usage is at 0-8% when it happens. I have 3Mb/sec internet from CenturyLink (fastest speed where I live), and a ZyXel PK5001Z router (capable of 100MB/sec). Normally, files download at 325-350KB/sec.

Network Graph (Image)enter image description here

If I let it continue at this horrid speed, it slows down to about 27KB/sec, then to 4.8/9.6KB/sec, and then will sometimes slow to a halt.

Speedtest.net does not reflect these speeds It shows them at near-maximum.

SpeedTest Results (Image)enter image description here

My Internet also jumps to 3.1Mb/sec when I run a speed test.

I do not use a VPN, and I am the only one on my network when it happens.

I download a lot of .iso files, mostly for Android-x86. However, they (and many other ISO files) randomly show down to 45KB/sec (300-500kbit/sec) when downloading.

I can't figure out what causes the issue. Windows 10, Windows 7, or Linux: still happens. Mirrored file on a different server: still happens. Different browser: still happens. Wi-Fi or Ethernet: still happens. My disk usage is at 0-8% when it happens. I have 3Mb/sec internet from CenturyLink (fastest speed where I live), and a ZyXel PK5001Z router (capable of 100MB/sec). Normally, files download at 325-350KB/sec.

Network Graph (Image)

If I let it continue at this horrid speed, it slows down to about 27KB/sec, then to 4.8/9.6KB/sec, and then will sometimes slow to a halt.

Speedtest.net does not reflect these speeds It shows them at near-maximum.

SpeedTest Results (Image)

My Internet also jumps to 3.1Mb/sec when I run a speed test.

I do not use a VPN, and I am the only one on my network when it happens.

I download a lot of .iso files, mostly for Android-x86. However, they (and many other ISO files) randomly show down to 45KB/sec (300-500kbit/sec) when downloading.

I can't figure out what causes the issue. Windows 10, Windows 7, or Linux: still happens. Mirrored file on a different server: still happens. Different browser: still happens. Wi-Fi or Ethernet: still happens. My disk usage is at 0-8% when it happens. I have 3Mb/sec internet from CenturyLink (fastest speed where I live), and a ZyXel PK5001Z router (capable of 100MB/sec). Normally, files download at 325-350KB/sec.

enter image description here

If I let it continue at this horrid speed, it slows down to about 27KB/sec, then to 4.8/9.6KB/sec, and then will sometimes slow to a halt.

Speedtest.net does not reflect these speeds It shows them at near-maximum.

enter image description here

My Internet also jumps to 3.1Mb/sec when I run a speed test.

I do not use a VPN, and I am the only one on my network when it happens.

Source Link
Zackary
  • 533
  • 4
  • 12
  • 36

Internet slows slows down when downloading large files for no apparent reason

I download a lot of .iso files, mostly for Android-x86. However, they (and many other ISO files) randomly show down to 45KB/sec (300-500kbit/sec) when downloading.

I can't figure out what causes the issue. Windows 10, Windows 7, or Linux: still happens. Mirrored file on a different server: still happens. Different browser: still happens. Wi-Fi or Ethernet: still happens. My disk usage is at 0-8% when it happens. I have 3Mb/sec internet from CenturyLink (fastest speed where I live), and a ZyXel PK5001Z router (capable of 100MB/sec). Normally, files download at 325-350KB/sec.

Network Graph (Image)

If I let it continue at this horrid speed, it slows down to about 27KB/sec, then to 4.8/9.6KB/sec, and then will sometimes slow to a halt.

Speedtest.net does not reflect these speeds It shows them at near-maximum.

SpeedTest Results (Image)

My Internet also jumps to 3.1Mb/sec when I run a speed test.

I do not use a VPN, and I am the only one on my network when it happens.