Skip to main content
added 318 characters in body
Source Link
Shayan
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 28
  • 38

I subscribed to a TV series website and it only provides videos to download in 4k resolution and I have a Core-i7, intel HD 3000, 8 GB RAM laptop. VLC, Quicktime, MPV, WMP all freeze playing these files4K. I can only watch the intros because intros are mostly black screenor white , I think GPU is too old to handle that much pixels to be down-scaled on a 1280*800 screen. I can play FHD fine on my laptop though, but of course my GPU isn't powerful enough so I can't convert the files to FHD.

  • Any idea how to make the down-scaling process possible?

  • Any workaround to play 4k on my laptop without freezing to death?

  • Is really down-scaling that power hungry? Any program that can handle this on old GPU's?

Playing FHD videos, CPU usage is about %15 up to % 150 and playing 4K videos, CPU usage is about %300 up to %400 according to Activity Monitor of Mac. MPV player plays the 4K files at 5 FPS which means unplayable.

The GPU graph doesn't show much usage for playing FHD files, but shows usage for 4K files.

Codec of files are H264 MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) (avc1) according to VLC.

Specs:

Apple Macbook Pro 13" Late 2011, Running El Capitan 10.11.6. Upgraded RAM from 4GB to 8GB and replaced the HDD with Samsung Evo 850 250GB SSD


UPDATE:

I had 2-3 FPS boost using movist (for MAC).

I tested and played these 4K files on my Android phone (LG G3) and they play very smoothly, it's just shocking to me that a laptop with core-i7 + intel HD 3000 is not able to play 4K but an android phone is. Just unbelievable.

I subscribed to a TV series website and it only provides videos to download in 4k resolution and I have a Core-i7, HD 3000, 8 GB RAM laptop. VLC, Quicktime freeze playing these files. I can only watch the intros because intros are mostly black screen, I think GPU is too old to handle that much pixels to be down-scaled on a 1280*800 screen. I can play FHD fine on my laptop though, but of course my GPU isn't powerful enough so I can't convert the files to FHD.

  • Any idea how to make the down-scaling process possible?

  • Any workaround to play 4k on my laptop without freezing to death?

  • Is really down-scaling that power hungry? Any program that can handle this on old GPU's?

Playing FHD videos, CPU usage is about %15 up to % 150 and playing 4K videos, CPU usage is about %300 up to %400 according to Activity Monitor of Mac. MPV player plays the 4K files at 5 FPS which means unplayable.

The GPU graph doesn't show much usage for playing FHD files, but shows usage for 4K files.

Codec of files are H264 MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) (avc1) according to VLC.

I subscribed to a TV series website and it only provides videos to download in 4k resolution and I have a Core-i7, intel HD 3000, 8 GB RAM laptop. VLC, Quicktime, MPV, WMP all freeze playing 4K. I can only watch the intros because intros are mostly black or white , I think GPU is too old to handle that much pixels to be down-scaled on a 1280*800 screen. I can play FHD fine on my laptop though, but of course my GPU isn't powerful enough so I can't convert the files to FHD.

  • Any idea how to make the down-scaling process possible?

  • Any workaround to play 4k on my laptop without freezing to death?

  • Is really down-scaling that power hungry? Any program that can handle this on old GPU's?

Playing FHD videos, CPU usage is about %15 up to % 150 and playing 4K videos, CPU usage is about %300 up to %400 according to Activity Monitor of Mac. MPV player plays the 4K files at 5 FPS which means unplayable.

The GPU graph doesn't show much usage for playing FHD files, but shows usage for 4K files.

Codec of files are H264 MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) (avc1) according to VLC.

Specs:

Apple Macbook Pro 13" Late 2011, Running El Capitan 10.11.6. Upgraded RAM from 4GB to 8GB and replaced the HDD with Samsung Evo 850 250GB SSD


UPDATE:

I had 2-3 FPS boost using movist (for MAC).

I tested and played these 4K files on my Android phone (LG G3) and they play very smoothly, it's just shocking to me that a laptop with core-i7 + intel HD 3000 is not able to play 4K but an android phone is. Just unbelievable.

added 51 characters in body
Source Link
Shayan
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 28
  • 38

I subscribed to a TV series website and it only provides videos to download in 4k resolution and I have a Core-i7, HD 3000, 8 GB RAM laptop. VLC, Quicktime freeze playing these files. I can only watch the intros because intros are mostly black screen, I think GPU is too old to handle that much pixels to be down-scaled on a 1280*800 screen. I can play FHD fine on my laptop though, but of course my GPU isn't powerful enough so I can't convert the files to FHD.

  • Any idea how to make the down-scaling process possible?

  • Any workaround to play 4k on my laptop without freezing to death?

  • Is really down-scaling that power hungry? Any program that can handle this on old GPU's?

Playing FHD videos, CPU usage is about %15 up to % 150and150 and playing 4K videos, CPU usage is about %300 up to %400 according to Activity Monitor of Mac. And the Files are MPEG-4. MPV player plays the 4K files at 5 FPS which means unplayable.

The GPU graph doesn't show much usage for playing FHD files, but shows usage for 4K files.

Codec of files are H264 MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) (avc1) according to VLC.

I subscribed to a TV series website and it only provides videos to download in 4k resolution and I have a Core-i7, HD 3000, 8 GB RAM laptop. VLC, Quicktime freeze playing these files. I can only watch the intros because intros are mostly black screen, I think GPU is too old to handle that much pixels to be down-scaled on a 1280*800 screen. I can play FHD fine on my laptop though, but of course my GPU isn't powerful enough so I can't convert the files to FHD.

  • Any idea how to make the down-scaling process possible?

  • Any workaround to play 4k on my laptop without freezing to death?

  • Is really down-scaling that power hungry? Any program that can handle this on old GPU's?

Playing FHD videos, CPU usage is about %15 up to % 150and playing 4K videos, CPU usage is about %300 up to %400 according to Activity Monitor of Mac. And the Files are MPEG-4. MPV player plays the files at 5 FPS which means unplayable.

The GPU graph doesn't show much usage for playing FHD files, but shows usage for 4K files.

I subscribed to a TV series website and it only provides videos to download in 4k resolution and I have a Core-i7, HD 3000, 8 GB RAM laptop. VLC, Quicktime freeze playing these files. I can only watch the intros because intros are mostly black screen, I think GPU is too old to handle that much pixels to be down-scaled on a 1280*800 screen. I can play FHD fine on my laptop though, but of course my GPU isn't powerful enough so I can't convert the files to FHD.

  • Any idea how to make the down-scaling process possible?

  • Any workaround to play 4k on my laptop without freezing to death?

  • Is really down-scaling that power hungry? Any program that can handle this on old GPU's?

Playing FHD videos, CPU usage is about %15 up to % 150 and playing 4K videos, CPU usage is about %300 up to %400 according to Activity Monitor of Mac. MPV player plays the 4K files at 5 FPS which means unplayable.

The GPU graph doesn't show much usage for playing FHD files, but shows usage for 4K files.

Codec of files are H264 MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) (avc1) according to VLC.

added 116 characters in body
Source Link
Shayan
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 28
  • 38

I subscribed to a TV series website and it only provides videos to download in 4k resolution and I have a Core-i7, HD 3000, 8 GB RAM laptop. VLC, Quicktime freeze playing these files. I can only watch the intros because intros are mostly black screen, I think GPU is too old to handle that much pixels to be down-scaled on a 1280*800 screen. I can play FHD fine on my laptop though, but of course my GPU isn't powerful enough so I can't convert the files to FHD.

  • Any idea how to make the down-scaling process possible?

  • Any workaround to play 4k on my laptop without freezing to death?

  • Is really down-scaling that power hungry? Any program that can handle this on old GPU's?

Playing FHD videos, CPU usage is about %15 andup to % 150and playing 4K videos, CPU usage is about %300 up to %400 according to Activity Monitor of Mac. And the Files are MPEG-4. MPV player plays the files at 5 FPS which means unplayable.

The GPU graph doesn't show much usage for playing FHD files, but shows usage for 4K files.

I subscribed to a TV series website and it only provides videos to download in 4k resolution and I have a Core-i7, HD 3000, 8 GB RAM laptop. VLC, Quicktime freeze playing these files. I can only watch the intros because intros are mostly black screen, I think GPU is too old to handle that much pixels to be down-scaled on a 1280*800 screen. I can play FHD fine on my laptop though, but of course my GPU isn't powerful enough so I can't convert the files to FHD.

  • Any idea how to make the down-scaling process possible?

  • Any workaround to play 4k on my laptop without freezing to death?

  • Is really down-scaling that power hungry? Any program that can handle this on old GPU's?

Playing FHD videos, CPU usage is about %15 and playing 4K videos, CPU usage is about %300 according to Activity Monitor of Mac. And the Files are MPEG-4. MPV player plays the files at 5 FPS which means unplayable.

I subscribed to a TV series website and it only provides videos to download in 4k resolution and I have a Core-i7, HD 3000, 8 GB RAM laptop. VLC, Quicktime freeze playing these files. I can only watch the intros because intros are mostly black screen, I think GPU is too old to handle that much pixels to be down-scaled on a 1280*800 screen. I can play FHD fine on my laptop though, but of course my GPU isn't powerful enough so I can't convert the files to FHD.

  • Any idea how to make the down-scaling process possible?

  • Any workaround to play 4k on my laptop without freezing to death?

  • Is really down-scaling that power hungry? Any program that can handle this on old GPU's?

Playing FHD videos, CPU usage is about %15 up to % 150and playing 4K videos, CPU usage is about %300 up to %400 according to Activity Monitor of Mac. And the Files are MPEG-4. MPV player plays the files at 5 FPS which means unplayable.

The GPU graph doesn't show much usage for playing FHD files, but shows usage for 4K files.

added 226 characters in body
Source Link
Shayan
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 28
  • 38
Loading
deleted 6 characters in body
Source Link
Shayan
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 28
  • 38
Loading
edited tags
Link
Shayan
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 28
  • 38
Loading
added 2 characters in body
Source Link
Shayan
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 28
  • 38
Loading
added 117 characters in body
Source Link
Shayan
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 28
  • 38
Loading
Source Link
Shayan
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 28
  • 38
Loading