Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • Why would it only happen when it's connected to the dual monitors only though? I'm using the same laptop right now and it works perfectly fine. It's the same thing every time. It only happens when it's connected to the monitors and it's not happening right away, but gradually. It works for about 30 min and then it slows down because of that kernel_task. So, it makes no sense to be to be a hardware issue. If it was, it should be acting the same way when it's not connected to the dual monitor setup. But i'll try with SMC Reset and see if that changes anything.
    – Dani
    Commented Feb 17, 2018 at 15:57
  • The graphics card is working much harder. 3 external monitors & the machine would be unable to keep itself cool enough. If it was actually a temperature sensor issue, then the behaviour would be similar without the external monitors connected, which is why I'm assuming all is actually normal.
    – Tetsujin
    Commented Feb 17, 2018 at 15:58
  • But that was not the case. I've used the same laptop with the same 2 monitors for about 2 weeks before I bought my mac mini. It never worked that way. It was normal. Also, I close the lid and it's just the 2 monitors. I dont know if I have to mention this, but I have macs fan control app installed. Could it be it or something?
    – Dani
    Commented Feb 17, 2018 at 16:00
  • 1
    Rather than adding new information after I've typed my answer, you ought to have put it in your question to start with. Reset the SMC & see what happens.
    – Tetsujin
    Commented Feb 17, 2018 at 16:02
  • Did that, reconnected it to the dual setup and I'd have to wait about 30 min to see if it start acting the same way.
    – Dani
    Commented Feb 17, 2018 at 16:11