Skip to main content
Question Protected by CommunityBot
added 228 characters in body
Source Link
Dani
  • 193
  • 1
  • 2
  • 10

I have my MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 2.3GHz, i7, 16GB DDR3 Ram with macOS High Sierra version 10.13.3 connected to dual monitors LG. My laptop is connected to the charger, so I can close the lid and use just the 2 external monitors.

My issue comes gradually every time. First 20-30 min of usage seem normal, it works fine. After that the CPU goes crazy for some reason. The Activity Monitor shows kernal_task at over 500% CPU usage all the time. Which is not normal at all.

I don't know what's wrong or how to solve this issue. I never have this problem when I use my laptop when its not connected to external monitors. Ideas?

UPDATE: After a SMC reset, 50 min later, the same issue occurs. This is a screenshot of the temperature and the activity monitor:

enter image description here

I have my MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 2.3GHz, i7, 16GB DDR3 Ram with macOS High Sierra version 10.13.3 connected to dual monitors LG. My laptop is connected to the charger, so I can close the lid and use just the 2 external monitors.

My issue comes gradually every time. First 20-30 min of usage seem normal, it works fine. After that the CPU goes crazy for some reason. The Activity Monitor shows kernal_task at over 500% CPU usage all the time. Which is not normal at all.

I don't know what's wrong or how to solve this issue. I never have this problem when I use my laptop when its not connected to external monitors. Ideas?

I have my MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 2.3GHz, i7, 16GB DDR3 Ram with macOS High Sierra version 10.13.3 connected to dual monitors LG. My laptop is connected to the charger, so I can close the lid and use just the 2 external monitors.

My issue comes gradually every time. First 20-30 min of usage seem normal, it works fine. After that the CPU goes crazy for some reason. The Activity Monitor shows kernal_task at over 500% CPU usage all the time. Which is not normal at all.

I don't know what's wrong or how to solve this issue. I never have this problem when I use my laptop when its not connected to external monitors. Ideas?

UPDATE: After a SMC reset, 50 min later, the same issue occurs. This is a screenshot of the temperature and the activity monitor:

enter image description here

Source Link
Dani
  • 193
  • 1
  • 2
  • 10

Macbook Pro very slow on Dual monitor setup?

I have my MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 2.3GHz, i7, 16GB DDR3 Ram with macOS High Sierra version 10.13.3 connected to dual monitors LG. My laptop is connected to the charger, so I can close the lid and use just the 2 external monitors.

My issue comes gradually every time. First 20-30 min of usage seem normal, it works fine. After that the CPU goes crazy for some reason. The Activity Monitor shows kernal_task at over 500% CPU usage all the time. Which is not normal at all.

I don't know what's wrong or how to solve this issue. I never have this problem when I use my laptop when its not connected to external monitors. Ideas?