Skip to main content

Timeline for Backup ZFS pool using rsync

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 23, 2018 at 20:04 comment added Attie I've said it before, and I'll say it again... "I'm constantly surprised that anything works at all"
Jan 23, 2018 at 16:51 comment added Octaviour To be honest I read the article a couple of months ago. I just reread it. To me it seems like no file system can work reliably without ECC RAM. One might always get a bit flip just before writing to disk. zfs not worse, but also not better in this regard. The problem with zfs in this case is that a single bit error can be much harder to recover. Please see my edited, original post for details on how I was planning to provide some resilience using ext.
Jan 22, 2018 at 16:20 comment added Attie "improper hardware"?... did you read the links? I'll grant you that an RPi isn't going to be a great ZFS host...
Jan 22, 2018 at 15:16 comment added Octaviour I'm not comfortable running ZFS on improper hardware. A single memory error in a bad location can corrupt too much data, potentially without me noticing. Also, I currently have a Raspberry Pi and external hard disk available from another project. Going the rsync road therefore involves zero cost. Also, formatting in ext4 makes it easier to read out the drive in case things go bad.
Jan 21, 2018 at 19:20 comment added Attie I'm not sure I follow your logic. I've updated my answer to clarify some points.
Jan 21, 2018 at 19:18 history edited Attie CC BY-SA 3.0
added 51 characters in body
Jan 21, 2018 at 19:04 history edited Attie CC BY-SA 3.0
added 51 characters in body
Jan 21, 2018 at 16:48 comment added Octaviour For me building my own machine was about the same price as cloud storage. Since I like tinkering and since I'll be able to get some extra functionality by building my own machine (Plex, VPN, git repos etc), I decided to go that way. I do realize that ideally I would backup to a similar machine, but that would be too expensive (just as backing up to the cloud is). In case my place burns down or something I'd still like to have two off site backups. No need for versioning or anything, I just want my files in that extreme case. That's why I'd really like to use rsync or similar for this.
Jan 21, 2018 at 16:08 history edited Attie CC BY-SA 3.0
added 440 characters in body
Jan 21, 2018 at 16:02 history answered Attie CC BY-SA 3.0