Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/950835157497516032
added 30 characters in body
Source Link
Mehdi Haghgoo
  • 1.6k
  • 8
  • 27
  • 42

Following the outbreak of KPTI news, I recently updated my kernel to 4.14.11-300. In addition to a quite sufficient RAM (8 GB) and fast IO (SSD disk), I have started to feel remarkable slowdown in my system performance when I am mulitasking for example editing code orand perform some other not-so-resource-intensive jobs, especially when I run out of physical RAM and switch to swap, which is hosted on SSD disk. I read in article, that you can disable the new imposed performance hit using the nopti option. I did not find any command on my Fedora 26 as nopti. Where should I use this feature and how?

Following the outbreak of KPTI news, I recently updated my kernel to 4.14.11-300. In addition to a quite sufficient RAM (8 GB) and fast IO (SSD disk), I have started to feel remarkable slowdown in my system performance when I am editing code or perform other not-so-resource-intensive jobs, especially when I run out of physical RAM and switch to swap, which is hosted on SSD disk. I read in article, that you can disable the new imposed performance hit using the nopti option. I did not find any command on my Fedora 26 as nopti. Where should I use this feature and how?

Following the outbreak of KPTI news, I recently updated my kernel to 4.14.11-300. In addition to a quite sufficient RAM (8 GB) and fast IO (SSD disk), I have started to feel remarkable slowdown in my system performance when I am mulitasking for example editing code and perform some other not-so-resource-intensive jobs, especially when I run out of physical RAM and switch to swap, which is hosted on SSD disk. I read in article, that you can disable the new imposed performance hit using the nopti option. I did not find any command on my Fedora 26 as nopti. Where should I use this feature and how?

added 92 characters in body; deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
Mehdi Haghgoo
  • 1.6k
  • 8
  • 27
  • 42

Following the outbreak of KPTI news, I recently updated my kernel to 4.14.11-300. In addition to a quite sufficient RAM (8 GB) and fast IO (SSD disk), I have started to feel remarkable slowdown in my system performance when I am editing code or perform other not-so-resource-intensive jobs, especially when I run out of physical RAM and switch to swap, which is hosted on SSD disk. I read in article, that you can disable the new imposed performance hit using the nopti option. I did not find any command on my Fedora 26 as nopti. Where should I use this feature and how?

Following the outbreak of KPTI news, I recently updated my kernel to 4.14.11-300. In addition to a quite sufficient RAM (8 GB) and fast IO (SSD disk), I have started to feel remarkable slowdown in my system performance when I am editing code or perform other not-so-resource-intensive jobs. I read in article, that you can disable the new imposed performance hit using the nopti option. I did not find any command on my Fedora 26 as nopti. Where should I use this feature and how?

Following the outbreak of KPTI news, I recently updated my kernel to 4.14.11-300. In addition to a quite sufficient RAM (8 GB) and fast IO (SSD disk), I have started to feel remarkable slowdown in my system performance when I am editing code or perform other not-so-resource-intensive jobs, especially when I run out of physical RAM and switch to swap, which is hosted on SSD disk. I read in article, that you can disable the new imposed performance hit using the nopti option. I did not find any command on my Fedora 26 as nopti. Where should I use this feature and how?

Post Migrated Here from stackoverflow.com (revisions)
Source Link
Mehdi Haghgoo
  • 1.6k
  • 8
  • 27
  • 42

How to Turn Off KPTI to Improve Performance in Fedora

Following the outbreak of KPTI news, I recently updated my kernel to 4.14.11-300. In addition to a quite sufficient RAM (8 GB) and fast IO (SSD disk), I have started to feel remarkable slowdown in my system performance when I am editing code or perform other not-so-resource-intensive jobs. I read in article, that you can disable the new imposed performance hit using the nopti option. I did not find any command on my Fedora 26 as nopti. Where should I use this feature and how?