Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • There are lots of things that can go wrong. if you already have another volume that will hold the data, consider instead copying the unencrypted contents (and perhaps cherry-picking the specific files you want). its likely to save you time. whatever you do, be sure to test the contents of the copy BEFORE you overwrite the source disk. Commented Dec 27, 2017 at 0:17
  • The point is I don't have will or time to cherry pick files because: 1) copying tons of small files takes long time 2) I don't want to store them unencrypted on external storage because I will need to wipe it afterwards 3) I want to pick files I need after I have fresh system installed because I will know better what else I'm missing yet. Yes, I'm perfectly aware I need to test copy before I overwrite source. Thanks for input
    – stil
    Commented Dec 27, 2017 at 0:24
  • If you use Windows tools to image the whole drive, e.g. Macrium Reflect, you can mount the image under Windows as another drive. Imaging can be done from a USB rescue disk or from a mounted Windows partition using Volume Shadow Copy. Mount the image as writable in order to access files with VeraCrypt (this does not actually write to the image on disk, only to the copy in memory). Commented Dec 27, 2017 at 17:27