Skip to main content

In fstab, I have 3 logical volumes being mounted, one for /, one for /home, and one for swap. On boot I see that / and /home are being mounted OK, then I see

"Remounting root filesystem in read-write mode"

completing OK and then I get

Mounting local filesystems: mount: you must specify the filesystem type

Judging from the order in fstab, it's the swap that fails. Also when I run mount -l, that mount is not there. mount -a returns the same message with no extra info.

I tried commenting out the line in fstab but that doesn't seem to affect anything somehow?

Here is the suspect line:

/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0

Any suggestions how to debug that? Thanks.

In fstab, I have 3 logical volumes being mounted, one for /, one for /home, and one for swap. On boot I see that / and /home are being mounted OK, then I see

"Remounting root filesystem in read-write mode"

completing OK and then I get

Mounting local filesystems: mount: you must specify the filesystem type

Judging from the order in fstab, it's the swap that fails. Also when I run mount -l, that mount is not there. mount -a returns the same message with no extra info.

I tried commenting out the line in fstab but that doesn't seem to affect anything somehow?

Here is the suspect line:

/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0

Any suggestions how to debug that? Thanks.

In fstab, I have 3 logical volumes being mounted, one for /, one for /home, and one for swap. On boot I see that / and /home are being mounted OK, then I see

"Remounting root filesystem in read-write mode"

completing OK and then I get

Mounting local filesystems: mount: you must specify the filesystem type

Judging from the order in fstab, it's the swap that fails. Also when I run mount -l, that mount is not there. mount -a returns the same message with no extra info.

I tried commenting out the line in fstab but that doesn't seem to affect anything somehow?

Here is the suspect line:

/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0
Source Link
ventsyv
  • 342
  • 2
  • 4
  • 14

Mount fails on boot

In fstab, I have 3 logical volumes being mounted, one for /, one for /home, and one for swap. On boot I see that / and /home are being mounted OK, then I see

"Remounting root filesystem in read-write mode"

completing OK and then I get

Mounting local filesystems: mount: you must specify the filesystem type

Judging from the order in fstab, it's the swap that fails. Also when I run mount -l, that mount is not there. mount -a returns the same message with no extra info.

I tried commenting out the line in fstab but that doesn't seem to affect anything somehow?

Here is the suspect line:

/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0

Any suggestions how to debug that? Thanks.