Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
user768248
user768248

I'm searching for a good solution to backup /home of my Debian linux system to a USB memory stick of size 128 GB. The directory /home weights about 8065 GB and is formatted as ext4. Naturally, with the files, I wish to backup their permissions and keep soft links as soft links. Moreover, some files names go beyond ASCII and include German umlaute or cyrillic letters. There are no hard links in /home, I'm not using extended attributes, and I don't care about last-access times. (However, the directory /home/〈username〉/.mozilla apparently contains files with extended attributes or nonregular files such as sockets, so, for the purpose of earyeasy handling, I'd like to backup the whole directory completely with these files or not all all.) The backup will happen weekly on average and will most likely be incremental. Once a month I would use the memory stick on a different linux machine to transfer files, so the file tree in the backup should be simply the same as in /home.

My previous solution to use ext4 on a (different) USB-stick resulted in issues which are hard to reproduce and hard to debug: https://superuser.com/questions/1249365/how-to-remove-a-file-with-bogus-permissions-and-owner-in-ext4, https://superuser.com/questions/1247553/ext4-on-usb-flash-fails . Thus, I'd like to give some other file system a try. Which one would suit? The primary goals are stability, long-term support by linux kernel&tools, and storing the metadata. The secondary goal would be low maintenance: I don't want to invoke some manual operation (such as defragmentation, trimming, etc.) 'every once in a while'. The tertirary goal could be low wear. The fourthquaternary goal could be gimmicks such as read caches, write caches, and transparent compression. The fifthquinary goal would be usability with Windows 10.

I'm searching for a good solution to backup /home of my Debian linux system to a USB memory stick of size 128 GB. The directory /home weights about 80 GB and is formatted as ext4. Naturally, with the files, I wish to backup their permissions and keep soft links as soft links. Moreover, some files names go beyond ASCII and include German umlaute or cyrillic letters. There are no hard links in /home, I'm not using extended attributes, and I don't care about last-access times. (However, the directory /home/〈username〉/.mozilla apparently contains files with extended attributes or nonregular files such as sockets, so, for the purpose of eary handling, I'd like to backup the whole directory completely with these files or not all all.) The backup will happen weekly on average and will most likely be incremental. Once a month I would use the memory stick on a different linux machine to transfer files, so the file tree in the backup should be simply the same as in /home.

My previous solution to use ext4 on a (different) USB-stick resulted in issues which are hard to reproduce and hard to debug: https://superuser.com/questions/1249365/how-to-remove-a-file-with-bogus-permissions-and-owner-in-ext4, https://superuser.com/questions/1247553/ext4-on-usb-flash-fails . Thus, I'd like to give some other file system a try. Which one would suit? The primary goals are stability, long-term support by linux kernel&tools, and storing the metadata. The secondary goal would be low maintenance: I don't want to invoke some manual operation (such as defragmentation, trimming, etc.) 'every once in a while'. The tertirary goal could be low wear. The fourth goal could be gimmicks such as read caches, write caches, and transparent compression. The fifth goal would be usability with Windows 10.

I'm searching for a good solution to backup /home of my Debian linux system to a USB memory stick of size 128 GB. The directory /home weights about 65 GB and is formatted as ext4. Naturally, with the files, I wish to backup their permissions and keep soft links as soft links. Moreover, some files names go beyond ASCII and include German umlaute or cyrillic letters. There are no hard links in /home, I'm not using extended attributes, and I don't care about last-access times. (However, the directory /home/〈username〉/.mozilla apparently contains files with extended attributes or nonregular files such as sockets, so, for the purpose of easy handling, I'd like to backup the whole directory completely with these files or not all all.) The backup will happen weekly on average and will most likely be incremental. Once a month I would use the memory stick on a different linux machine to transfer files, so the file tree in the backup should be simply the same as in /home.

My previous solution to use ext4 on a (different) USB-stick resulted in issues which are hard to reproduce and hard to debug: https://superuser.com/questions/1249365/how-to-remove-a-file-with-bogus-permissions-and-owner-in-ext4, https://superuser.com/questions/1247553/ext4-on-usb-flash-fails . Thus, I'd like to give some other file system a try. Which one would suit? The primary goals are stability, long-term support by linux kernel&tools, and storing the metadata. The secondary goal would be low maintenance: I don't want to invoke some manual operation (such as defragmentation, trimming, etc.) 'every once in a while'. The tertirary goal could be low wear. The quaternary goal could be gimmicks such as read caches, write caches, and transparent compression. The quinary goal would be usability with Windows 10.

added 208 characters in body
Source Link
user768248
user768248

I'm searching for a good solution to backup /home of my Debian linux system to a USB memory stick of size 128 GB. The directory /home weights about 80 GB and is formatted as ext4. Naturally, with the files, I wish to backup their permissions and keep soft links as soft links. Moreover, some files names go beyond ASCII and include German umlaute or cyrillic letters. There are no hard links in /home, I'm not using extended attributes, and I don't care about last-access times. (However, the directory /home/〈username〉/.mozilla apparently contains files with extended attributes or nonregular files such as sockets, so, for the purpose of eary handling, I'd like to backup the whole directory completely with these socketsfiles or not all all.) The backup will happen weekly on average and will most likely be incremental. Once a month I would use the memory stick on a different linux machine to transfer files, so the file tree in the backup should be simply the same as in /home.

My previous solution to use ext4 on a (different) USB-stick resulted in issues which are hard to reproduce and hard to debug: https://superuser.com/questions/1249365/how-to-remove-a-file-with-bogus-permissions-and-owner-in-ext4, https://superuser.com/questions/1247553/ext4-on-usb-flash-fails . Thus, I'd like to give some other file system a try. Which one would suit? The primary goals are stability, long-term support by linux kernel&tools, and storing the metadata. The secondary goal would be low maintenance: I don't want to invoke some manual operation (such as defragmentation, trimming, etc.) 'every once in a while'. The tertirary goal could be low wear. The fourth goal could be gimmicks such as read caches, write caches, and transparent compression. The fifth goal would be usability with Windows 10.

I'm searching for a good solution to backup /home of my Debian linux system to a USB memory stick of size 128 GB. The directory /home weights about 80 GB and is formatted as ext4. Naturally, with the files, I wish to backup their permissions and keep soft links as soft links. Moreover, some files names go beyond ASCII and include German umlaute or cyrillic letters. There are no hard links in /home, I'm not using extended attributes, and I don't care about last-access times. (However, the directory /home/〈username〉/.mozilla apparently contains sockets, so, for the purpose of eary handling, I'd like to backup the whole directory completely with these sockets or not all all.) The backup will happen weekly on average and will most likely be incremental. Once a month I would use the memory stick on a different linux machine to transfer files, so the file tree in the backup should be simply the same as in /home.

My previous solution to use ext4 on a (different) USB-stick resulted in issues which are hard to reproduce and hard to debug: https://superuser.com/questions/1249365/how-to-remove-a-file-with-bogus-permissions-and-owner-in-ext4, https://superuser.com/questions/1247553/ext4-on-usb-flash-fails . Thus, I'd like to give some other file system a try. Which one would suit? The primary goals are stability, long-term support by linux kernel&tools, and storing the metadata. The secondary goal would be low maintenance: I don't want to invoke some manual operation (such as defragmentation, trimming, etc.) 'every once in a while'. The tertirary goal could be low wear. The fourth goal could be gimmicks such as read caches, write caches, and transparent compression. The fifth goal would be usability with Windows 10.

I'm searching for a good solution to backup /home of my Debian linux system to a USB memory stick of size 128 GB. The directory /home weights about 80 GB and is formatted as ext4. Naturally, with the files, I wish to backup their permissions and keep soft links as soft links. Moreover, some files names go beyond ASCII and include German umlaute or cyrillic letters. There are no hard links in /home, I'm not using extended attributes, and I don't care about last-access times. (However, the directory /home/〈username〉/.mozilla apparently contains files with extended attributes or nonregular files such as sockets, so, for the purpose of eary handling, I'd like to backup the whole directory completely with these files or not all all.) The backup will happen weekly on average and will most likely be incremental. Once a month I would use the memory stick on a different linux machine to transfer files, so the file tree in the backup should be simply the same as in /home.

My previous solution to use ext4 on a (different) USB-stick resulted in issues which are hard to reproduce and hard to debug: https://superuser.com/questions/1249365/how-to-remove-a-file-with-bogus-permissions-and-owner-in-ext4, https://superuser.com/questions/1247553/ext4-on-usb-flash-fails . Thus, I'd like to give some other file system a try. Which one would suit? The primary goals are stability, long-term support by linux kernel&tools, and storing the metadata. The secondary goal would be low maintenance: I don't want to invoke some manual operation (such as defragmentation, trimming, etc.) 'every once in a while'. The tertirary goal could be low wear. The fourth goal could be gimmicks such as read caches, write caches, and transparent compression. The fifth goal would be usability with Windows 10.

added 208 characters in body
Source Link
user768248
user768248

I'm searching for a good solution to backup /home of my Debian linux system to a USB memory stick of size 128 GB. The directory /home weights about 80 GB and is formatted as ext4. Naturally, with the files, I wish to backup their permissions and keep soft links as soft links. Moreover, some files names go beyond ASCII and include German umlaute or cyrillic letters. There are no hard links in /home, I'm not using extended attributes, and I don't care about last-access times. (However, the directory /home/〈username〉/.mozilla apparently contains sockets, so, for the purpose of eary handling, I'd like to backup the whole directory completely with these sockets or not all all.) The backup will happen weekly on average and will most likely be incremental. Once a month I would use the memory stick on a different linux machine to transfer files, so the file tree in the backup should be simply the same as in /home.

My previous solution to use ext4 on a (different) USB-stick endedresulted in issues which are hard to reproduce and hard to debug: https://superuser.com/questions/1249365/how-to-remove-a-file-with-bogus-permissions-and-owner-in-ext4, https://superuser.com/questions/1247553/ext4-on-usb-flash-fails . Thus, I'd like to give some other file system a try. Which one would suit? The primary goals are stability, long-term support by linux kernel&tools, and storing the metadata. The secondary goal would be low maintenance: I don't want to invoke some manual operation (such as defragmentation, trimming, etc.) 'every once in a while'. The tertirary goal could be low wear. The fourth goal could be gimmicks such as read caches, write caches, and transparent compression. The fifth goal would be usability with Windows 10.

I'm searching for a good solution to backup /home of my Debian linux system to a USB memory stick of size 128 GB. The directory /home weights about 80 GB and is formatted as ext4. Naturally, with the files, I wish to backup their permissions and keep soft links as soft links. Moreover, some files names go beyond ASCII and include German umlaute or cyrillic letters. There are no hard links in /home, I'm not using extended attributes, and I don't care about last-access times. The backup will happen weekly on average and will most likely be incremental. Once a month I would use the memory stick on a different linux machine to transfer files, so the file tree in the backup should be simply the same as in /home.

My previous solution to use ext4 on a (different) USB-stick ended in issues which are hard to reproduce and hard to debug: https://superuser.com/questions/1249365/how-to-remove-a-file-with-bogus-permissions-and-owner-in-ext4, https://superuser.com/questions/1247553/ext4-on-usb-flash-fails . Thus, I'd like to give some other file system a try. Which one would suit? The primary goals are stability, long-term support by linux kernel&tools, and storing the metadata. The secondary goal would be low maintenance: I don't want to invoke some manual operation (such as defragmentation, trimming, etc.) 'every once in a while'. The tertirary goal could be low wear. The fourth goal could be gimmicks such as read caches, write caches, and transparent compression. The fifth goal would be usability with Windows 10.

I'm searching for a good solution to backup /home of my Debian linux system to a USB memory stick of size 128 GB. The directory /home weights about 80 GB and is formatted as ext4. Naturally, with the files, I wish to backup their permissions and keep soft links as soft links. Moreover, some files names go beyond ASCII and include German umlaute or cyrillic letters. There are no hard links in /home, I'm not using extended attributes, and I don't care about last-access times. (However, the directory /home/〈username〉/.mozilla apparently contains sockets, so, for the purpose of eary handling, I'd like to backup the whole directory completely with these sockets or not all all.) The backup will happen weekly on average and will most likely be incremental. Once a month I would use the memory stick on a different linux machine to transfer files, so the file tree in the backup should be simply the same as in /home.

My previous solution to use ext4 on a (different) USB-stick resulted in issues which are hard to reproduce and hard to debug: https://superuser.com/questions/1249365/how-to-remove-a-file-with-bogus-permissions-and-owner-in-ext4, https://superuser.com/questions/1247553/ext4-on-usb-flash-fails . Thus, I'd like to give some other file system a try. Which one would suit? The primary goals are stability, long-term support by linux kernel&tools, and storing the metadata. The secondary goal would be low maintenance: I don't want to invoke some manual operation (such as defragmentation, trimming, etc.) 'every once in a while'. The tertirary goal could be low wear. The fourth goal could be gimmicks such as read caches, write caches, and transparent compression. The fifth goal would be usability with Windows 10.

added 164 characters in body
Source Link
user768248
user768248
Loading
edited body
Source Link
user768248
user768248
Loading
deleted 65 characters in body
Source Link
user768248
user768248
Loading
added 72 characters in body
Source Link
user768248
user768248
Loading
added 111 characters in body
Source Link
user768248
user768248
Loading
Source Link
user768248
user768248
Loading