Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • thanks a lot! With makemkv v1.10.7 on MacOS X 10.11 I was able to create one mkvfile for each track. I just head to set the minimal track length in the preferences below the default value 120 sec, because there were a lot of short audio tracks. In the makemkv window I could then browse through the list of tracks and see which filename corresponds to which chapter for roughly grouping the 175 mkv files by chapter before renaming them. Commented Oct 24, 2017 at 11:47
  • hm, after testing the single files, I had to find that there are still many tracks missing among the exported mkv files. :-( In fact, all audio files seem to be combined in one track and then there is for each audio track a very small file (< 80 kB) which does nothing, when I play it. So I'll still have to separate the audio files in their many pieces by hand. Now it would be helpful to have the time in mm:ss where each new track starts... Commented Oct 24, 2017 at 13:24
  • Are you able to provide a smallish sample of one of your original files?
    – Mokubai
    Commented Oct 24, 2017 at 13:32
  • 1
    @MostlyHarmless Annoyingly it looks like I cannot open those files in MakeMKV to have a look at them as I'm missing the majority of the structure. I can't see any chapter information in the MKV files you sent me either. I know I should see it as a lot of my other MKV files from MakeMKV give me chapter information when I do ffprobe -show-chapters file.mkv. This suggests that Mplayer can show you chapters on a DVD.
    – Mokubai
    Commented Oct 24, 2017 at 17:45
  • 1
    Another alternative suggests that DVD Decrypter can be set to split DVD files by chapter as well. forum.videohelp.com/threads/…
    – Mokubai
    Commented Oct 24, 2017 at 17:46