Skip to main content
added 472 characters in body
Source Link
MostlyHarmless
  • 1.9k
  • 7
  • 29
  • 50

I have a Video DVD which contains audio and video tracks, which I can select and play via a menu.

So in the DVD navigation menu, there are

  • ca. 15 chapters
  • each of them contains 5..10 audio tracks and 1..5 video tracks.

EDIT:

In the meantime, I found out that for each "chapter" in the navigation, there are 2 .VOB files:

e. g. for Chapter 3:

  • VTS_03_0.VOB seems to contain the menu for the chapter
  • VTS_03_1.VOB contains the sequence of the audio and video tracks, but all in one file

So now it would be helpful to have kind of a table of contents which tells me that Audio track 4-3 starts at minute 5:17 of chapter 3... Any idea, how I can get that information?

(for more background of the question, please read below)


On each chapter navigation "page", those audio and video tracks have or numbered e. g. "1-3 Audio" is the first audio track of chapter 3 or "4-2 Video" is the 4th video track of chapter 2...

At the moment, the only way to use this DVD is using a DVD player application together with the real DVD or an ISO image. Instead, I want to use the content of this DVD e. g. on my smartphone.

Question:
So what I want to achieve is deconstructing the content of the DVD in order to

  • get 1 audio or video file (ideally mp3 resp. mp4) for each track which is linked in the navigation
  • and the name of the resulting audio/video file should correspond to the text used in the navigation menu, where this "track" is linked.

It would be awesome, if there was a tool which could already do this automatically and "resolve" the navigation of the DVD into those single files.

If this is not possible, I would also be highly interested in a workaround "by hand" - so e. g. if I could export the video or audio content of one chapter into one file and then somehow could export the information of the navigation menus, which would tell me: "track 2-3 audio is starting on minute 2:23 of chapter 2".., so that I then could decompose the complete chapters by hand into the chunks.

I have a Video DVD which contains audio and video tracks, which I can select and play via a menu.

So in the DVD navigation menu, there are

  • ca. 15 chapters
  • each of them contains 5..10 audio tracks and 1..5 video tracks.

On each chapter navigation "page", those audio and video tracks have or numbered e. g. "1-3 Audio" is the first audio track of chapter 3 or "4-2 Video" is the 4th video track of chapter 2...

At the moment, the only way to use this DVD is using a DVD player application together with the real DVD or an ISO image. Instead, I want to use the content of this DVD e. g. on my smartphone.

Question:
So what I want to achieve is deconstructing the content of the DVD in order to

  • get 1 audio or video file (ideally mp3 resp. mp4) for each track which is linked in the navigation
  • and the name of the resulting audio/video file should correspond to the text used in the navigation menu, where this "track" is linked.

It would be awesome, if there was a tool which could already do this automatically and "resolve" the navigation of the DVD into those single files.

If this is not possible, I would also be highly interested in a workaround "by hand" - so e. g. if I could export the video or audio content of one chapter into one file and then somehow could export the information of the navigation menus, which would tell me: "track 2-3 audio is starting on minute 2:23 of chapter 2".., so that I then could decompose the complete chapters by hand into the chunks.

I have a Video DVD which contains audio and video tracks, which I can select and play via a menu.

So in the DVD navigation menu, there are

  • ca. 15 chapters
  • each of them contains 5..10 audio tracks and 1..5 video tracks.

EDIT:

In the meantime, I found out that for each "chapter" in the navigation, there are 2 .VOB files:

e. g. for Chapter 3:

  • VTS_03_0.VOB seems to contain the menu for the chapter
  • VTS_03_1.VOB contains the sequence of the audio and video tracks, but all in one file

So now it would be helpful to have kind of a table of contents which tells me that Audio track 4-3 starts at minute 5:17 of chapter 3... Any idea, how I can get that information?

(for more background of the question, please read below)


On each chapter navigation "page", those audio and video tracks have or numbered e. g. "1-3 Audio" is the first audio track of chapter 3 or "4-2 Video" is the 4th video track of chapter 2...

At the moment, the only way to use this DVD is using a DVD player application together with the real DVD or an ISO image. Instead, I want to use the content of this DVD e. g. on my smartphone.

Question:
So what I want to achieve is deconstructing the content of the DVD in order to

  • get 1 audio or video file (ideally mp3 resp. mp4) for each track which is linked in the navigation
  • and the name of the resulting audio/video file should correspond to the text used in the navigation menu, where this "track" is linked.

It would be awesome, if there was a tool which could already do this automatically and "resolve" the navigation of the DVD into those single files.

If this is not possible, I would also be highly interested in a workaround "by hand" - so e. g. if I could export the video or audio content of one chapter into one file and then somehow could export the information of the navigation menus, which would tell me: "track 2-3 audio is starting on minute 2:23 of chapter 2".., so that I then could decompose the complete chapters by hand into the chunks.

Source Link
MostlyHarmless
  • 1.9k
  • 7
  • 29
  • 50

How to dissect a DVD into the single audio or video tracks according to the menu / chapters

I have a Video DVD which contains audio and video tracks, which I can select and play via a menu.

So in the DVD navigation menu, there are

  • ca. 15 chapters
  • each of them contains 5..10 audio tracks and 1..5 video tracks.

On each chapter navigation "page", those audio and video tracks have or numbered e. g. "1-3 Audio" is the first audio track of chapter 3 or "4-2 Video" is the 4th video track of chapter 2...

At the moment, the only way to use this DVD is using a DVD player application together with the real DVD or an ISO image. Instead, I want to use the content of this DVD e. g. on my smartphone.

Question:
So what I want to achieve is deconstructing the content of the DVD in order to

  • get 1 audio or video file (ideally mp3 resp. mp4) for each track which is linked in the navigation
  • and the name of the resulting audio/video file should correspond to the text used in the navigation menu, where this "track" is linked.

It would be awesome, if there was a tool which could already do this automatically and "resolve" the navigation of the DVD into those single files.

If this is not possible, I would also be highly interested in a workaround "by hand" - so e. g. if I could export the video or audio content of one chapter into one file and then somehow could export the information of the navigation menus, which would tell me: "track 2-3 audio is starting on minute 2:23 of chapter 2".., so that I then could decompose the complete chapters by hand into the chunks.