Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 1
    Check the network adapters the VM uses it trusted and not unidentified just in case. I know you said you disabled FW and I assume that was on the host server too. I assume the "virtual box host-only network" is enabled on the host too. I assume you already rebooted the host VM too since the upgrade just in case it's something as simple as that. Disabling and enabling the host network adapters and then doing the same from each VM may be worth a shot too. Quick ideas for you. Commented Oct 23, 2017 at 22:44
  • @Facebook Thanks for the suggestions. On the Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate host, I see that the VirtualBox Host-Only Network has "no Internet access": that's likely to be the root of the issue. Any clue as to why VirtualBox Host-Only Network has "no Internet access" is welcome. I tried Vbox 5.2.0 and Vbox 5.1.30. Commented Oct 24, 2017 at 4:58
  • 1
    The TCP/IP adapter configurations would cause this is my guess. I see the VM network host adapter has not default gateway for example so packet skating across to a different subnet may not be able to be routed properly for example. I noticed you have Autoconfiguration Enabled with a value of "Yes" so maybe try setting the NIC for DHCP or setup a static including default gateway manually. Commented Oct 24, 2017 at 9:06
  • @Facebook thanks. I've just tried to enable the DHCP on the virtual box host-only network on the host, but it didn't help. How should I setup a static including default gateway manually? Commented Oct 24, 2017 at 20:22
  • 1
    @JakeGould thanks, unfortunately downgrading to 5.1.0 didn't fix the network issue :/ Commented Oct 26, 2017 at 0:50