Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 18, 2017 at 10:31 comment added pelle It is for long-term storage. I have files I have kept around since downloading them to floppies 30 years ago. Have them well-covered by on- and off-site backups, but if a few bytes in a file are corrupt and I do not notice it for many years it can be difficult to find a good copy (depending on how well the various backup media have survived) so I would prefer to notice broken files as soon as possible. There is already a long list of bad files because I kept them on cdrom for a decade or two before gathering them on the current disk.
Oct 18, 2017 at 8:24 comment added Mokubai For backup purposes you should always be thinking about redundancy. Depending on how important the data is you would have a second duplicate copy on your current machine, a local copy on-premesis on a USB hard drive or memory stick, and another off-site copy. It's up to you to be certain your data is safe, dont trust the dumb box on the floor to do it for you.
Oct 18, 2017 at 8:07 vote accept pelle
Oct 18, 2017 at 8:07 comment added pelle Thanks! This sounds like a good thing to have, but I will need to keep looking then to have a way to keep my old archived data more safe. I do backups, but if I do not know when an old file becomes corrupted I do not know when it is time to read it back from the backup.
Oct 18, 2017 at 7:39 history answered Mokubai CC BY-SA 3.0