Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • Thanks! This sounds like a good thing to have, but I will need to keep looking then to have a way to keep my old archived data more safe. I do backups, but if I do not know when an old file becomes corrupted I do not know when it is time to read it back from the backup.
    – pelle
    Commented Oct 18, 2017 at 8:07
  • For backup purposes you should always be thinking about redundancy. Depending on how important the data is you would have a second duplicate copy on your current machine, a local copy on-premesis on a USB hard drive or memory stick, and another off-site copy. It's up to you to be certain your data is safe, dont trust the dumb box on the floor to do it for you.
    – Mokubai
    Commented Oct 18, 2017 at 8:24
  • It is for long-term storage. I have files I have kept around since downloading them to floppies 30 years ago. Have them well-covered by on- and off-site backups, but if a few bytes in a file are corrupt and I do not notice it for many years it can be difficult to find a good copy (depending on how well the various backup media have survived) so I would prefer to notice broken files as soon as possible. There is already a long list of bad files because I kept them on cdrom for a decade or two before gathering them on the current disk.
    – pelle
    Commented Oct 18, 2017 at 10:31