Skip to main content
added 120 characters in body
Source Link
tomh1012
  • 165
  • 1
  • 10

I recently bought an Asus Xonar DSX sound card, installed and set up the device and then found my Windows machine would blue screen very frequently, after following the Asus troubleshooting and many forum threads, I found nothing to fix it and figured it must have been a faulty card, so I sent it back and got a Creative SoundBlaster Z. Same issue. I reinstalled Windows and had a good couple of weeks with no BSoD, but now it has started happening again with most dump files pointing to ntoskrnl.exe. I also dual boot Debian on this same computer and have had no problems at all in Linux, only Windows. It is Windows 7 64bit Professional and fully updated Creative drivers from their website. Any ideas on how I can fix this?

UPDATE: Here is the most recent dmp file from a BSoD https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4H6mY31LFBJYXJObThFVkZPbzg

I recently bought an Asus Xonar DSX sound card, installed and set up the device and then found my Windows machine would blue screen very frequently, after following the Asus troubleshooting and many forum threads, I found nothing to fix it and figured it must have been a faulty card, so I sent it back and got a Creative SoundBlaster Z. Same issue. I reinstalled Windows and had a good couple of weeks with no BSoD, but now it has started happening again with most dump files pointing to ntoskrnl.exe. I also dual boot Debian on this same computer and have had no problems at all in Linux, only Windows. It is Windows 7 64bit Professional and fully updated Creative drivers from their website. Any ideas on how I can fix this?

I recently bought an Asus Xonar DSX sound card, installed and set up the device and then found my Windows machine would blue screen very frequently, after following the Asus troubleshooting and many forum threads, I found nothing to fix it and figured it must have been a faulty card, so I sent it back and got a Creative SoundBlaster Z. Same issue. I reinstalled Windows and had a good couple of weeks with no BSoD, but now it has started happening again with most dump files pointing to ntoskrnl.exe. I also dual boot Debian on this same computer and have had no problems at all in Linux, only Windows. It is Windows 7 64bit Professional and fully updated Creative drivers from their website. Any ideas on how I can fix this?

UPDATE: Here is the most recent dmp file from a BSoD https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4H6mY31LFBJYXJObThFVkZPbzg

Source Link
tomh1012
  • 165
  • 1
  • 10

Windows has frequent BSoD with sound cards

I recently bought an Asus Xonar DSX sound card, installed and set up the device and then found my Windows machine would blue screen very frequently, after following the Asus troubleshooting and many forum threads, I found nothing to fix it and figured it must have been a faulty card, so I sent it back and got a Creative SoundBlaster Z. Same issue. I reinstalled Windows and had a good couple of weeks with no BSoD, but now it has started happening again with most dump files pointing to ntoskrnl.exe. I also dual boot Debian on this same computer and have had no problems at all in Linux, only Windows. It is Windows 7 64bit Professional and fully updated Creative drivers from their website. Any ideas on how I can fix this?