Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
improved formatting
Source Link
Kamil Maciorowski
  • 75.7k
  • 22
  • 152
  • 229

Suddenly my ext4 file system fell down into read-only mode. I've unmounted this disk and trieadtried to repair it, but without any success.

  1. fsckfsck tries to fix something but ends with "FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED"FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED, "WARNING: Filesystem still has errors"WARNING: Filesystem still has errors.
  2. mountmount fails with "failed: Structure needs cleaning"failed: Structure needs cleaning message.
  3. badblocksbadblocks tool shows several errors.
  4. smartctlsmartctl test status: read failureread failure.

Also, I've made disk image via ddrescueddrescue tool, but can't repair/mount partition from it as from hddHDD.

What I want:

  1. Mount partition and copy not damaged files.
  2. Make decision - does this HDD has physical problems, or this is only ext4 crash.?

Suddenly my ext4 file system fell down into read-only mode. I've unmounted this disk and triead to repair it, but without any success.

  1. fsck tries to fix something but ends with "FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED", "WARNING: Filesystem still has errors".
  2. mount fails with "failed: Structure needs cleaning" message.
  3. badblocks tool shows several errors.
  4. smartctl test status: read failure

Also, I've made disk image via ddrescue tool, but can't repair/mount partition from it as from hdd.

What I want:

  1. Mount partition and copy not damaged files.
  2. Make decision - does this HDD has physical problems, or this is only ext4 crash.

Suddenly my ext4 file system fell down into read-only mode. I've unmounted this disk and tried to repair it, but without any success.

  1. fsck tries to fix something but ends with FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED, WARNING: Filesystem still has errors.
  2. mount fails with failed: Structure needs cleaning message.
  3. badblocks tool shows several errors.
  4. smartctl test status: read failure.

Also, I've made disk image via ddrescue tool, but can't repair/mount partition from it as from HDD.

What I want:

  1. Mount partition and copy not damaged files.
  2. Make decision - does this HDD has physical problems, or this is only ext4 crash?
added 37 characters in body
Source Link
mangup
  • 11
  • 1
  • 3

Suddenly my ext4 file system fell down into read-only mode. I've unmounted this disk and triead to repair it, but without any success.

  1. fsck tries to fix something but ends with "FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED", "WARNING: Filesystem still has errors".
  2. mount fails with "failed: Structure needs cleaning" message.
  3. badblocks tool shows several errors.
  4. smartctl test status: read failure

Also, I've made disk image via ddrescue tool, but can't repair/mount partition from it as from hdd.

What I want:

  1. Mount partition and copy not damaged files.
  2. Make decision - does this HDD has physical problems, or this is only ext4 crash.

Suddenly my ext4 file system fell down into read-only mode. I've unmounted this disk and triead to repair it, but without any success.

  1. fsck tries to fix something but ends with "FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED", "WARNING: Filesystem still has errors".
  2. mount fails with "failed: Structure needs cleaning" message.
  3. badblocks tool shows several errors.

Also, I've made disk image via ddrescue tool, but can't repair/mount partition from it as from hdd.

What I want:

  1. Mount partition and copy not damaged files.
  2. Make decision - does this HDD has physical problems, or this is only ext4 crash.

Suddenly my ext4 file system fell down into read-only mode. I've unmounted this disk and triead to repair it, but without any success.

  1. fsck tries to fix something but ends with "FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED", "WARNING: Filesystem still has errors".
  2. mount fails with "failed: Structure needs cleaning" message.
  3. badblocks tool shows several errors.
  4. smartctl test status: read failure

Also, I've made disk image via ddrescue tool, but can't repair/mount partition from it as from hdd.

What I want:

  1. Mount partition and copy not damaged files.
  2. Make decision - does this HDD has physical problems, or this is only ext4 crash.
Source Link
mangup
  • 11
  • 1
  • 3

ext4 filesystem still has errors after fsck

Suddenly my ext4 file system fell down into read-only mode. I've unmounted this disk and triead to repair it, but without any success.

  1. fsck tries to fix something but ends with "FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED", "WARNING: Filesystem still has errors".
  2. mount fails with "failed: Structure needs cleaning" message.
  3. badblocks tool shows several errors.

Also, I've made disk image via ddrescue tool, but can't repair/mount partition from it as from hdd.

What I want:

  1. Mount partition and copy not damaged files.
  2. Make decision - does this HDD has physical problems, or this is only ext4 crash.