Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
edited title
Source Link
lungj
  • 386
  • 2
  • 13

High kernel_task CPU usage on Mac while using network; also causes bottleneck

My kernel_task process has high CPU usage (150%+) on a late 2016 MacBook Pro running 10.12.5 when transmitting/receiving lots of data from the network and I think it's a bottleneck. I'm using a Anker USB-C 3-port USB 3 Hub + GbE adapter, so maybe it's a driver thing, but my CPU usage is also proportionately lower (relative to transfer speed) when I use wi-fi and I pretty much top out the bandwidth that the airport menubar TX rate (from holding option and clicking the airport icon) suggests I should be getting.

At first I thought it was due to lack of use of hardware encryption via an ssh tunnel and sftp, but I've tried iperf, iperf3, and plain cat /dev/zero | nc host port. These all result in high CPU usage. Direct connection -- bypassing my switch -- has no effect. It's not the cable, either.

Is CPU usage of 150%+ normal for networking on macOS? And is there anything I can do to improve my transfer rates (prefer software changes, but networking hardware is okay, too)? kernel_task appears to not use more than 180% or so of processor time and my transmission rate keeps increasing until I hit that utilization rate (which can be sooner, if I'm using ssh). The computers I'm connecting to (Solaris, FreeBSD, and Debian) never use more than 25% of CPU to to saturate a GbE connection amongst themselves, with and without ssh.

High kernel_task CPU while using network; also causes bottleneck

My kernel_task process has high CPU usage (150%+) on a late 2016 MacBook Pro running 10.12.5 when transmitting/receiving lots of data from the network and I think it's a bottleneck. I'm using a Anker USB-C 3-port USB 3 Hub + GbE adapter, so maybe it's a driver thing, but my CPU usage is also proportionately lower (relative to transfer speed) when I use wi-fi and I pretty much top out the bandwidth that the airport menubar TX rate (from holding option and clicking the airport icon) suggests I should be getting.

At first I thought it was due to lack of use of hardware encryption via an ssh tunnel and sftp, but I've tried iperf, iperf3, and plain cat /dev/zero | nc host port. These all result in high CPU usage.

Is CPU usage of 150%+ normal for networking on macOS? And is there anything I can do to improve my transfer rates (prefer software changes, but networking hardware is okay, too)? kernel_task appears to not use more than 180% or so of processor time and my transmission rate keeps increasing until I hit that utilization rate (which can be sooner, if I'm using ssh). The computers I'm connecting to (Solaris, FreeBSD, and Debian) never use more than 25% of CPU to to saturate a GbE connection amongst themselves, with and without ssh.

High kernel_task CPU usage on Mac while using network; also causes bottleneck

My kernel_task process has high CPU usage (150%+) on a late 2016 MacBook Pro running 10.12.5 when transmitting/receiving lots of data from the network and I think it's a bottleneck. I'm using a Anker USB-C 3-port USB 3 Hub + GbE adapter, so maybe it's a driver thing, but my CPU usage is also proportionately lower (relative to transfer speed) when I use wi-fi and I pretty much top out the bandwidth that the airport menubar TX rate (from holding option and clicking the airport icon) suggests I should be getting.

At first I thought it was due to lack of use of hardware encryption via an ssh tunnel and sftp, but I've tried iperf, iperf3, and plain cat /dev/zero | nc host port. These all result in high CPU usage. Direct connection -- bypassing my switch -- has no effect. It's not the cable, either.

Is CPU usage of 150%+ normal for networking on macOS? And is there anything I can do to improve my transfer rates (prefer software changes, but networking hardware is okay, too)? kernel_task appears to not use more than 180% or so of processor time and my transmission rate keeps increasing until I hit that utilization rate (which can be sooner, if I'm using ssh). The computers I'm connecting to (Solaris, FreeBSD, and Debian) never use more than 25% of CPU to to saturate a GbE connection amongst themselves, with and without ssh.

Source Link
lungj
  • 386
  • 2
  • 13

High kernel_task CPU while using network; also causes bottleneck

My kernel_task process has high CPU usage (150%+) on a late 2016 MacBook Pro running 10.12.5 when transmitting/receiving lots of data from the network and I think it's a bottleneck. I'm using a Anker USB-C 3-port USB 3 Hub + GbE adapter, so maybe it's a driver thing, but my CPU usage is also proportionately lower (relative to transfer speed) when I use wi-fi and I pretty much top out the bandwidth that the airport menubar TX rate (from holding option and clicking the airport icon) suggests I should be getting.

At first I thought it was due to lack of use of hardware encryption via an ssh tunnel and sftp, but I've tried iperf, iperf3, and plain cat /dev/zero | nc host port. These all result in high CPU usage.

Is CPU usage of 150%+ normal for networking on macOS? And is there anything I can do to improve my transfer rates (prefer software changes, but networking hardware is okay, too)? kernel_task appears to not use more than 180% or so of processor time and my transmission rate keeps increasing until I hit that utilization rate (which can be sooner, if I'm using ssh). The computers I'm connecting to (Solaris, FreeBSD, and Debian) never use more than 25% of CPU to to saturate a GbE connection amongst themselves, with and without ssh.