Skip to main content
Added two more things that I did, one of them in response to a comment
Source Link

Premise, this is the first time I try to compile anything. I am using the Cygwin (64-bit) terminal on a Windows machine.

I am trying to compile some source files that came in a tarball.

I navigate to the directory where I unzipped the tarball, then enter

./configure

After a couple of seconds, the shell responds:

configure: error: cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub

config.log does not help clarify the issue:

## ----------- ##
## Core tests. ##
## ----------- ##

configure:2156: error: cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub

I tried a couple of things. First of all, both config.sub and /bin/sh are there.

$ ./config.sub --help
Usage: ./config.sub [OPTION] CPU-MFR-OPSYS or ALIAS
[snip]

$ ls -l /bin/sh
-rwxr-xr-x 2 foo bar 739859 Jan 27  2017 /bin/sh

Second, the tarball is old (this is a 2013 release and it is the latest available. I prefer not to go into the details about what the code actually is, but if necessary I will, and I'm glad to provide more code snippets). After discovering what config.sub is, I tried to download the latest versions of config.sub and config.guess from Git. However, nothing changed.

I also tried to run the Cygwin terminal as Administrator.

The problem is not about CRLF/LF line endings: Files are saved in Unix format

Does anyone have any idea what might be going on?

Premise, this is the first time I try to compile anything. I am using the Cygwin (64-bit) terminal on a Windows machine.

I am trying to compile some source files that came in a tarball.

I navigate to the directory where I unzipped the tarball, then enter

./configure

After a couple of seconds, the shell responds:

configure: error: cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub

config.log does not help clarify the issue:

## ----------- ##
## Core tests. ##
## ----------- ##

configure:2156: error: cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub

I tried a couple of things. First of all, both config.sub and /bin/sh are there.

$ ./config.sub --help
Usage: ./config.sub [OPTION] CPU-MFR-OPSYS or ALIAS
[snip]

$ ls -l /bin/sh
-rwxr-xr-x 2 foo bar 739859 Jan 27  2017 /bin/sh

Second, the tarball is old (this is a 2013 release and it is the latest available. I prefer not to go into the details about what the code actually is, but if necessary I will, and I'm glad to provide more code snippets). After discovering what config.sub is, I tried to download the latest versions of config.sub and config.guess from Git. However, nothing changed.

Does anyone have any idea what might be going on?

Premise, this is the first time I try to compile anything. I am using the Cygwin (64-bit) terminal on a Windows machine.

I am trying to compile some source files that came in a tarball.

I navigate to the directory where I unzipped the tarball, then enter

./configure

After a couple of seconds, the shell responds:

configure: error: cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub

config.log does not help clarify the issue:

## ----------- ##
## Core tests. ##
## ----------- ##

configure:2156: error: cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub

I tried a couple of things. First of all, both config.sub and /bin/sh are there.

$ ./config.sub --help
Usage: ./config.sub [OPTION] CPU-MFR-OPSYS or ALIAS
[snip]

$ ls -l /bin/sh
-rwxr-xr-x 2 foo bar 739859 Jan 27  2017 /bin/sh

Second, the tarball is old (this is a 2013 release and it is the latest available. I prefer not to go into the details about what the code actually is, but if necessary I will, and I'm glad to provide more code snippets). After discovering what config.sub is, I tried to download the latest versions of config.sub and config.guess from Git. However, nothing changed.

I also tried to run the Cygwin terminal as Administrator.

The problem is not about CRLF/LF line endings: Files are saved in Unix format

Does anyone have any idea what might be going on?

Source Link

Error when compiling in Cygwin: "cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub"

Premise, this is the first time I try to compile anything. I am using the Cygwin (64-bit) terminal on a Windows machine.

I am trying to compile some source files that came in a tarball.

I navigate to the directory where I unzipped the tarball, then enter

./configure

After a couple of seconds, the shell responds:

configure: error: cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub

config.log does not help clarify the issue:

## ----------- ##
## Core tests. ##
## ----------- ##

configure:2156: error: cannot run /bin/sh ./config.sub

I tried a couple of things. First of all, both config.sub and /bin/sh are there.

$ ./config.sub --help
Usage: ./config.sub [OPTION] CPU-MFR-OPSYS or ALIAS
[snip]

$ ls -l /bin/sh
-rwxr-xr-x 2 foo bar 739859 Jan 27  2017 /bin/sh

Second, the tarball is old (this is a 2013 release and it is the latest available. I prefer not to go into the details about what the code actually is, but if necessary I will, and I'm glad to provide more code snippets). After discovering what config.sub is, I tried to download the latest versions of config.sub and config.guess from Git. However, nothing changed.

Does anyone have any idea what might be going on?