Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Check the line endings. See Configure: error: cannot run /bin/sh
    – DavidPostill
    Commented Aug 13, 2017 at 21:27
  • Thanks, I updated the post to reflect your comment. Unfortunately, that's not the issue. I did run into that issue when I downloaded the latest version of config.sub from Git, because I pasted it in... :D
    – Mattia
    Commented Aug 13, 2017 at 21:41
  • 1
    try autoreconf -ivf to update the autoconf stuff to latest cygwin version
    – matzeri
    Commented Aug 14, 2017 at 5:02
  • Thanks. I entered autoreconf -ivf and here is what came out: $ autoreconf -ivf 0 [main] sh 18596 fork: child -1 - CreateProcessW failed for 'C:\cygwin64\bin\sh.exe', errno 13 /usr/bin/autoreconf: fork: Permission denied 0 [main] perl 14720 child_info_fork::abort: address space needed by 'Fcntl .dll' (0x3FD270000) is already occupied Can't fork, trying again in 5 seconds at /usr/share/autoconf/Autom4te/General.pm [and so on every 5 seconds forever]
    – Mattia
    Commented Aug 14, 2017 at 18:29
  • tbh, I get this type of errors about "permissions" and "address spaces already occupied" also when I try to compile other stuff. I tried to compile GNU-parallel and ./configure gave me that type of error. So it's already a step forward.
    – Mattia
    Commented Aug 14, 2017 at 20:28