Skip to main content
added 431 characters in body
Source Link

I installed Elementary OS, and everything worked nicely. I got GRUB when booting the computer, I could boot Windows and Elementary OS. The only problem was that Windows Boot Manager showed up twice in the EFI boot menu. One of them was GRUB, and the other was just Windows. I probably should have just left it alone, but I went into Windows and typed in bcdedit /set {bootmgr} description GRUB This ruined everything. This actually got rid of the Windows Boot Manager entry in EFI (the one that was secretly GRUB) and left the one that was just Windows. Now I can't get into Linux again. Most of the tutorials online are about getting GRUB back after installing Windows, or aren't for EFI. For this reason, I'm reluctant to follow those tutorials. They say to reinstall grub to MBR, even though I originally installed it to the EFI partition. That doesn't seem right to me.

EDIT: I got more information on the problem. I reinstalled GRUB, using a common method I found online. I then used efibootmgr, and it appears that when I renamed Windows Boot Manager to GRUB, the new entry was actually created. There is also an entry named ubuntu. However, neither of these entries is in the boot order. I can't change the boot order to add them in though. The command works, but the change does not get saved.

I installed Elementary OS, and everything worked nicely. I got GRUB when booting the computer, I could boot Windows and Elementary OS. The only problem was that Windows Boot Manager showed up twice in the EFI boot menu. One of them was GRUB, and the other was just Windows. I probably should have just left it alone, but I went into Windows and typed in bcdedit /set {bootmgr} description GRUB This ruined everything. This actually got rid of the Windows Boot Manager entry in EFI (the one that was secretly GRUB) and left the one that was just Windows. Now I can't get into Linux again. Most of the tutorials online are about getting GRUB back after installing Windows, or aren't for EFI. For this reason, I'm reluctant to follow those tutorials. They say to reinstall grub to MBR, even though I originally installed it to the EFI partition. That doesn't seem right to me.

I installed Elementary OS, and everything worked nicely. I got GRUB when booting the computer, I could boot Windows and Elementary OS. The only problem was that Windows Boot Manager showed up twice in the EFI boot menu. One of them was GRUB, and the other was just Windows. I probably should have just left it alone, but I went into Windows and typed in bcdedit /set {bootmgr} description GRUB This ruined everything. This actually got rid of the Windows Boot Manager entry in EFI (the one that was secretly GRUB) and left the one that was just Windows. Now I can't get into Linux again. Most of the tutorials online are about getting GRUB back after installing Windows, or aren't for EFI. For this reason, I'm reluctant to follow those tutorials. They say to reinstall grub to MBR, even though I originally installed it to the EFI partition. That doesn't seem right to me.

EDIT: I got more information on the problem. I reinstalled GRUB, using a common method I found online. I then used efibootmgr, and it appears that when I renamed Windows Boot Manager to GRUB, the new entry was actually created. There is also an entry named ubuntu. However, neither of these entries is in the boot order. I can't change the boot order to add them in though. The command works, but the change does not get saved.

Source Link

GRUB disappears after changing description of Windows Boot Manager

I installed Elementary OS, and everything worked nicely. I got GRUB when booting the computer, I could boot Windows and Elementary OS. The only problem was that Windows Boot Manager showed up twice in the EFI boot menu. One of them was GRUB, and the other was just Windows. I probably should have just left it alone, but I went into Windows and typed in bcdedit /set {bootmgr} description GRUB This ruined everything. This actually got rid of the Windows Boot Manager entry in EFI (the one that was secretly GRUB) and left the one that was just Windows. Now I can't get into Linux again. Most of the tutorials online are about getting GRUB back after installing Windows, or aren't for EFI. For this reason, I'm reluctant to follow those tutorials. They say to reinstall grub to MBR, even though I originally installed it to the EFI partition. That doesn't seem right to me.