Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • Thank you, i'll go over this tonight. Seems very comprehensive. I want to ask this now though, just to clarify : I should be able to type shimx64.efi in its directory in (I think /boot/EFI) the Internal EFI shell and if there aren't any other problems I should normally be able to boot the Linux guest? I will read the blogs and your response in further detail when I get back home tonight. I have removed the boot and esp flag in nvme0n1p5 using the free Minitool Partition Wizard for Windows but still see no difference before your reply.
    – Azrudi
    Commented Aug 2, 2017 at 14:59
  • Hi Rod, I read through the third link. Most of it were a bit over my head at this time but I read the part about the EFI stub loader. I tried to replicate but got weird errors that I don't understand: i.imgur.com/F4RRACw.png It says invalid parameters but I've included all the relevant parameters. Can you help translate in layman terms? Note that I think the EFI partition itself is fine because I can boot Ubuntu if I boot from the BIOS (the one where I press the del key when manufacturer logo appears)
    – Azrudi
    Commented Aug 2, 2017 at 22:53
  • 3
    I've got it to work! Made 3 changes: 1) removed the boot & esp flag with Minitool Partition Wizard, and labelled it as msftdata partition (or Partition ID = Windows Basic Data Partition in Minitool) 2) changed under VM>Settings>Options>General>Version from Ubuntu to Ubuntu 64-bit 3) changed hard drive under VM>Settings>Hard Disk (SCSI)>check EFI partition, root partition and swap partition, then click Advanced button and picked Mode>Independent>Non-persistent Now it works! Without (3) I got "inaccessible hard disk \\.\PhysicalDrive0". Marked this as solution.
    – Azrudi
    Commented Aug 2, 2017 at 23:29