Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 10, 2021 at 1:50 answer added Avery Freeman timeline score: 0
Aug 2, 2017 at 23:23 vote accept Azrudi
Aug 1, 2017 at 13:54 answer added Rod Smith timeline score: 2
Jul 30, 2017 at 10:04 comment added Azrudi I do have a question though, is it possible to boot from the EFI system partition your primary OS, and then use a virtual machine to boot from the same EFI system partition again? Like for example, a Windows 10 within the same Windows 10 system? (i'm not asking if its a good idea - just asking if it is possible)
Jul 30, 2017 at 10:02 comment added Azrudi Thanks. Yes, that partition is also marked esp and it has a boot flag. If I remember correctly, I installed Ubuntu on another computer and made an image of it, which I restored to my current computer. That old computer had 2 hard drives, and Ubuntu took 10GB of its secondary (now busted) hard drive. In my new machine, it could be that it is carrying over the boot flag and esp from the old machine. I ran into problems on this machine when I had to use boot-repair to be able to boot Ubuntu on this machine. I do not know how to clear the esp and boot flags.
Jul 30, 2017 at 9:19 comment added Hennes re 3). I am out of my depth here. But can you check that the ESP is not already mounted by windows? Most of the time windows does seem to leave it alone (inf act, I had to force my current windows install to map a drive letter to it), but checking newer hurts. Otherwise good post. I hope it gets answered with a proper solution.
Jul 30, 2017 at 9:15 comment added Hennes ESP (EFI system partition) is the partition usually used to store the bootloaders for all operating systems. There usually is only one sunch partition and unless you have a MAC it is formatted with FAT32. Now when I look at /dev/nvme0n1p5 I see it is ext4 and it is your Ubuntu partition. It is also marked esp. That confuses me.
Jul 29, 2017 at 23:01 history edited Azrudi CC BY-SA 3.0
added 701 characters in body; edited tags
Jul 29, 2017 at 20:15 comment added Azrudi I think my problem is the EFI system. I tried Oracle Virtualbox and went through the vboxmanage setup to use a raw disk - and once I've attached the raw disk to Virtualbox, it still won't let me boot as normal or as EFI. 1) booting normally results in no operating system found 2) choosing "boot EFI instead of BIOS" brings me to a strange EFI Internal Shell Menu and I can return to EFI Boot Manager and navigate "Set Boot Option" to find grubx64.efi, but selecting that file does nothing but I'm stabbing in the dark actually.
Jul 29, 2017 at 19:01 comment added Azrudi Thanks or the reply. 1) VMware-Workstation Trial. 2) I've updated my current hard drive structure in the original post.
Jul 29, 2017 at 19:00 history edited Azrudi CC BY-SA 3.0
added 985 characters in body
Jul 29, 2017 at 18:44 history edited Azrudi
edited tags
Jul 29, 2017 at 16:36 comment added Hennes Two questions: 1) What are you using? ([VMware] is a firm, please change the tags to [vmware-player], [wmware-workstation] etc). 2) [u]EFI used a FAT32 partition to boot all OS from. That one might be in use. Can you make more explicit what you mean when you write that linu xis showing up as efi system?
Jul 29, 2017 at 16:32 history asked Azrudi CC BY-SA 3.0