Skip to main content
add option5
Source Link
MagTun
  • 1.5k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 34

DownsideOption 5: Deleting a recovery partition by reinstalling Windows: Make a backup of your files, use a bootable ubuntu usb drive to format and merge all the partition and then reinstall Windows. Windows creates a system files partition but that's only 500MB (that can be related or notnothing compared to the option 420GB it used before):.

Downside (that can be related or not to the option 4):

  • I can't anymore create a system repair disk as "the files needed are not found" (I created one without problem just before shrinking the recovery drive). I need to have a Window. ISO from which the necessary files are loaded.
  • I have lost all my restore points.
  • I don't know if there is a link but I tried to restore a restore point 2 months after deleting the Recovery Partition. I couldn't some files were missing. I had others bugs so I ended up reinstalling Windows 10 from scratch (cf option 5). I could get rid of the recovery partition. During the install,

Downside (that can be related or not to the option 4):

  • I can't anymore create a system repair disk as "the files needed are not found" (I created one without problem just before shrinking the recovery drive). I need to have a Window. ISO from which the necessary files are loaded.
  • I have lost all my restore points.

Option 5: Deleting a recovery partition by reinstalling Windows: Make a backup of your files, use a bootable ubuntu usb drive to format and merge all the partition and then reinstall Windows. Windows creates a system files partition but that's only 500MB (nothing compared to the 20GB it used before).

Downside (that can be related or not to the option 4):

  • I can't anymore create a system repair disk as "the files needed are not found" (I created one without problem just before shrinking the recovery drive). I need to have a Window. ISO from which the necessary files are loaded.
  • I have lost all my restore points.
  • I don't know if there is a link but I tried to restore a restore point 2 months after deleting the Recovery Partition. I couldn't some files were missing. I had others bugs so I ended up reinstalling Windows 10 from scratch (cf option 5). I could get rid of the recovery partition. During the install,
add downsides
Source Link
MagTun
  • 1.5k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 34

ifIf you had a dual boot, to restore Ubuntu Grub, follow this

Downside (that can be related or not to the option 4):

  • I can't anymore create a system repair disk as "the files needed are not found" (I created one without problem just before shrinking the recovery drive). I need to have a Window. ISO from which the necessary files are loaded.
  • I have lost all my restore points.

Because, I upgraded from Window 7 to Windows 10 just a couple of days before doing option 4, when I startedafter doing option 4, I could choose betweenthe boot displayed 2 versions of Windows: Windows 10 orand 7. To remove Windows 7 from the boot menu, do this.

if you had a dual boot, to restore Ubuntu Grub, follow this

Because, I upgraded from Window 7 to Windows 10 just a couple of days before, when I started, I could choose between Windows 10 or 7. To remove Windows 7 from the boot menu, do this.

If you had a dual boot, to restore Ubuntu Grub, follow this

Downside (that can be related or not to the option 4):

  • I can't anymore create a system repair disk as "the files needed are not found" (I created one without problem just before shrinking the recovery drive). I need to have a Window. ISO from which the necessary files are loaded.
  • I have lost all my restore points.

Because, I upgraded from Window 7 to Windows 10 just a couple of days before doing option 4, after doing option 4, the boot displayed 2 versions of Windows: Windows 10 and 7. To remove Windows 7 from the boot menu, do this.

added 76 characters in body
Source Link
MagTun
  • 1.5k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 34

WARNING: The first time I reboot my computer (at step3), my recovery disk was assigned to the letter C and my windows disk to the letter F (you can know that if you enter diskpart in the command prompt from the repair disk). I didn't proceed with the last code I gave and instead I tried the fix #4 from here). I ended up with the An operating system wasn't found try disconnecting any drives that don't contain an operating system screen. I wasn't even able to get to the Grub to start Ubuntu so I started Ubuntu from the bootable USB. I use Ubuntu Boot Repair following all the indications it gave me. I got many error related to FlexNet and Wubi (I sort of ignored then, at this point, I was pretty sure I would have to use the windows system image). But when I restarted I was able to get to the Grub and to choose windows 10. I still got the 0xc0000225 error but this time, my windows disk had the letter C. I then entered the last code above and finally I could start Windows 10. Everything was normal in my windows user account but my.

if you had a dual boot, to restore Ubuntu installation was removedGrub, follow (so be sure to backup it up before proceeding)this

WARNING: The first time I reboot my computer (at step3), my recovery disk was assigned to the letter C and my windows disk to the letter F (you can know that if you enter diskpart in the command prompt from the repair disk). I didn't proceed with the last code I gave and instead I tried the fix #4 from here). I ended up with the An operating system wasn't found try disconnecting any drives that don't contain an operating system screen. I wasn't even able to get to the Grub to start Ubuntu so I started Ubuntu from the bootable USB. I use Ubuntu Boot Repair following all the indications it gave me. I got many error related to FlexNet and Wubi (I sort of ignored then, at this point, I was pretty sure I would have to use the windows system image). But when I restarted I was able to get to the Grub and to choose windows 10. I still got the 0xc0000225 error but this time, my windows disk had the letter C. I then entered the last code above and finally I could start Windows 10. Everything was normal in my windows user account but my Ubuntu installation was removed (so be sure to backup it up before proceeding)

WARNING: The first time I reboot my computer (at step3), my recovery disk was assigned to the letter C and my windows disk to the letter F (you can know that if you enter diskpart in the command prompt from the repair disk). I didn't proceed with the last code I gave and instead I tried the fix #4 from here). I ended up with the An operating system wasn't found try disconnecting any drives that don't contain an operating system screen. I wasn't even able to get to the Grub to start Ubuntu so I started Ubuntu from the bootable USB. I use Ubuntu Boot Repair following all the indications it gave me. I got many error related to FlexNet and Wubi (I sort of ignored then, at this point, I was pretty sure I would have to use the windows system image). But when I restarted I was able to get to the Grub and to choose windows 10. I still got the 0xc0000225 error but this time, my windows disk had the letter C. I then entered the last code above and finally I could start Windows 10. Everything was normal in my windows user account.

if you had a dual boot, to restore Ubuntu Grub, follow this

added 426 characters in body
Source Link
MagTun
  • 1.5k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 34
Loading
Source Link
MagTun
  • 1.5k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 34
Loading