Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • I have no difficulties with disassembling the drive. However won't that usually void my warrenty? Furthermore once I get the data out is there a way to fix the problem so I can get back to using the drive as I used to?
    – Zeliax
    Commented Jun 18, 2017 at 9:03
  • @Zeliax Frankly I don't know. I admit this subject never even crossed my mind because I always buy disks and enclosures separately. If there's a sticker over a screw or some screws are sealed, then I guess it may. Commented Jun 18, 2017 at 9:12
  • I believe I will contact WD and ask then what the suggested procedure from their part is as I still have a valid warranty for the drive. I will not send the drive in for an RMA as I have personal content on the drive so I hope they have some good suggestions for what I should do. If not I believe I will need to buy a new enclosure and use that for the drive once I have recovered the files with the drive out of an enclosure. Thanks for your answer!
    – Zeliax
    Commented Jun 18, 2017 at 12:50
  • I added an edit to my original post if you want to know more about what happened regarding my drive.
    – Zeliax
    Commented Jun 21, 2017 at 19:19