Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • What do you mean by mobile hotspot? Is that wireless connection at your work location? Is your mobile also configured by your company?
    – user725131
    Commented Jun 8, 2017 at 6:36
  • By mobile hotspot I mean, tethering from my personal (no ties to the company) android phone. And the other network in question is my company's Wifi and Ethernet LAN. Commented Jun 8, 2017 at 6:40
  • Normally your external IP address would not change whether you use a wired or wireless network within the same cadastral, that might be your answer.
    – user725131
    Commented Jun 8, 2017 at 6:55
  • Please read the question description. I did mention that when looking for my IP on the phone browser directly, I get a different IP. I believe that implies I should see the same IP from the computer when my computer is connected to internet through the phone. Commented Jun 8, 2017 at 7:03
  • Maybe the two IP adresses are within the same scope then or owned by the same company? Sorry for misunderstanding, just trying to help.
    – user725131
    Commented Jun 8, 2017 at 7:13