Skip to main content
Address comments below since I can't make a comment. Calling it a switch instead of cascading router.
Source Link

Slow speeds with cascading routersusing old router as a switch

I have a Netgear C3000 as a modem and primary router. The Netgear is in my living room and my desktop is in my office on other side of apt. Since I had an ASUS WL520GU with Tomato 1.28 laying around, I wanted to set upuse it as a cascading router setupswitch in my office for my desktop.

I did some internet download speed tests and was surprised by results:

  1. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> PC = 220 Mbps
  2. Netgear C3000 --> WiFi--> PC = 40 Mbps
  3. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> LAN --> PC = 90 Mbps
  4. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> WiFi--> PC = 10 Mbps

I'm surprised the speed dropped down so much between tests #1 and #3 when everything was wired. The Wifi tests #2 and #4 were both conducted in my office and was even more surprised to see speeds were slower when I was sitting right next to the ASUS router.

I've seen some other threads about this and most people ask if the WAN port is being used or if DHCP was disabled. I can confirm that I am connecting the routers together with a long LAN cable using the LAN ports on both primary (Netgear) and secondary (ASUS) routers. I've also disabled DHCP. The primary router ip is 192.168.0.1 and second router sis 192.168.0.2

So what gives with the huge drop in speed?

EDIT: I can't comment yet (sigh), but to the person who asked below: yes I want to use this router as a switch. I said cascading router setup initially because that's what the tutorial I followed called it. I actually don't need the wifi capability of the 2nd ASUS router. I just want to connect my desktop to it via LAN cable.

Slow speeds with cascading routers

I have a Netgear C3000 as a modem and primary router. The Netgear is in my living room and my desktop is in my office on other side of apt. Since I had an ASUS WL520GU with Tomato 1.28 laying around, I wanted to set up a cascading router setup.

I did some internet download speed tests and was surprised by results:

  1. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> PC = 220 Mbps
  2. Netgear C3000 --> WiFi--> PC = 40 Mbps
  3. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> LAN --> PC = 90 Mbps
  4. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> WiFi--> PC = 10 Mbps

I'm surprised the speed dropped down so much between tests #1 and #3 when everything was wired. The Wifi tests #2 and #4 were both conducted in my office and was even more surprised to see speeds were slower when I was sitting right next to the ASUS router.

I've seen some other threads about this and most people ask if the WAN port is being used or if DHCP was disabled. I can confirm that I am connecting the routers together with a long LAN cable using the LAN ports on both primary and secondary routers. I've also disabled DHCP. The primary router ip is 192.168.0.1 and second router s 192.168.0.2

So what gives with the huge drop in speed?

Slow speeds with using old router as a switch

I have a Netgear C3000 as a modem and primary router. The Netgear is in my living room and my desktop is in my office on other side of apt. Since I had an ASUS WL520GU with Tomato 1.28 laying around, I wanted to use it as a switch in my office for my desktop.

I did some internet download speed tests and was surprised by results:

  1. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> PC = 220 Mbps
  2. Netgear C3000 --> WiFi--> PC = 40 Mbps
  3. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> LAN --> PC = 90 Mbps
  4. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> WiFi--> PC = 10 Mbps

I'm surprised the speed dropped down so much between tests #1 and #3 when everything was wired. The Wifi tests #2 and #4 were both conducted in my office and was even more surprised to see speeds were slower when I was sitting right next to the ASUS router.

I've seen some other threads about this and most people ask if the WAN port is being used or if DHCP was disabled. I can confirm that I am connecting the routers together with a long LAN cable using the LAN ports on both primary (Netgear) and secondary (ASUS) routers. I've also disabled DHCP. The primary router ip is 192.168.0.1 and second router is 192.168.0.2

So what gives with the huge drop in speed?

EDIT: I can't comment yet (sigh), but to the person who asked below: yes I want to use this router as a switch. I said cascading router setup initially because that's what the tutorial I followed called it. I actually don't need the wifi capability of the 2nd ASUS router. I just want to connect my desktop to it via LAN cable.

I have a Netgear C3000 as a modem and primary router. The Netgear is in my living room and my desktop is in my office on other side of apt. Since I had an ASUS WL520GU with Tomato 1.28 laying around, I wanted to set up a cascading router setup.

I did some internet download speed tests and was surprised by results:

  1. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> PC = 220 Mbps
  2. Netgear C3000 --> WiFi--> PC = 40 Mbps
  3. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> LAN --> PC = 90 Mbps
  4. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> WiFi--> PC = 10 Mbps

I'm surprised the speed dropped down so much between tests #1 and #3 when everything was wired. The Wifi tests #2 and #4 were both conducted in my office and was even more surprised to see speeds were slower when I was sitting right next to the ASUS router.

I've seen some other threads about this and most people ask if the WAN port is being used or if DHCP was disabled. I can confirm that I am connecting the routers together with a long LAN cable using the LAN ports on both primary and secondary routers. I've also disabled DHCP. The primary router ip is 192.168.0.1 and second router s 192.168.0.2

So what gives with the huge drop in speed?

I have a Netgear C3000 as a modem and primary router. The Netgear is in my living room and my desktop is in my office on other side of apt. Since I had an ASUS WL520GU with Tomato 1.28 laying around, I wanted to set up a cascading router setup.

I did some internet download speed tests and was surprised by results:

  1. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> PC = 220 Mbps
  2. Netgear C3000 --> WiFi--> PC = 40 Mbps
  3. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> LAN --> PC = 90 Mbps
  4. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> WiFi--> PC = 10 Mbps

I'm surprised the speed dropped down so much between tests #1 and #3 when everything was wired. The Wifi tests #2 and #4 were both conducted in my office and was even more surprised to see speeds were slower when I was sitting right next to the ASUS router.

I've seen some other threads about this and most people ask if the WAN port is being used or if DHCP was disabled. I can confirm that I am connecting the routers together with a long LAN cable. I've also disabled DHCP. The primary router ip is 192.168.0.1 and second router s 192.168.0.2

So what gives with the huge drop in speed?

I have a Netgear C3000 as a modem and primary router. The Netgear is in my living room and my desktop is in my office on other side of apt. Since I had an ASUS WL520GU with Tomato 1.28 laying around, I wanted to set up a cascading router setup.

I did some internet download speed tests and was surprised by results:

  1. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> PC = 220 Mbps
  2. Netgear C3000 --> WiFi--> PC = 40 Mbps
  3. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> LAN --> PC = 90 Mbps
  4. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> WiFi--> PC = 10 Mbps

I'm surprised the speed dropped down so much between tests #1 and #3 when everything was wired. The Wifi tests #2 and #4 were both conducted in my office and was even more surprised to see speeds were slower when I was sitting right next to the ASUS router.

I've seen some other threads about this and most people ask if the WAN port is being used or if DHCP was disabled. I can confirm that I am connecting the routers together with a long LAN cable using the LAN ports on both primary and secondary routers. I've also disabled DHCP. The primary router ip is 192.168.0.1 and second router s 192.168.0.2

So what gives with the huge drop in speed?

added 10 characters in body
Source Link
Tetsujin
  • 50k
  • 9
  • 112
  • 142

I have a Netgear C3000 as a modem and primary router. The Netgear is in my living room and my desktop is in my office on other side of apt. Since I had an ASUS WL520GU with Tomato 1.28 laying around, I wanted to set up a cascading router setup.

I did some internet download speed tests and was surprised by results:

  1. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> PC = 220 MBpsMbps
  2. Netgear C3000 --> WiFi--> PC = 40 MBpsMbps
  3. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> LAN --> PC = 90 MBpsMbps
  4. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> WiFi--> PC = 10 MBpsMbps

I'm surprised the speed dropped down so much between tests #1 and #3 when everything was wired. The Wifi tests #2 and #4 were both conducted in my office and was even more surprised to see speeds were slower when I was sitting right next to the ASUS router.

I've seen some other threads about this and most people ask if the WAN port is being used or if DHCP was disabled. I can confirm that I am connecting the routers together with a long LAN cable. I've also disabled DHCP. The primary router ip is 192.168.0.1 and second router s 192.168.0.2

So what gives with the huge drop in speed?

I have a Netgear C3000 as a modem and primary router. The Netgear is in my living room and my desktop is in my office on other side of apt. Since I had an ASUS WL520GU with Tomato 1.28 laying around, I wanted to set up a cascading router setup.

I did some internet download speed tests and was surprised by results:

  1. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> PC = 220 MBps
  2. Netgear C3000 --> WiFi--> PC = 40 MBps
  3. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> LAN --> PC = 90 MBps
  4. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> WiFi--> PC = 10 MBps

I'm surprised the speed dropped down so much between tests #1 and #3 when everything was wired. The Wifi tests #2 and #4 were both conducted in my office and was even more surprised to see speeds were slower when I was sitting right next to the ASUS router.

I've seen some other threads about this and most people ask if the WAN port is being used or if DHCP was disabled. I can confirm that I am connecting the routers together with a long LAN cable. I've also disabled DHCP. The primary router ip is 192.168.0.1 and second router s 192.168.0.2

So what gives with the huge drop in speed?

I have a Netgear C3000 as a modem and primary router. The Netgear is in my living room and my desktop is in my office on other side of apt. Since I had an ASUS WL520GU with Tomato 1.28 laying around, I wanted to set up a cascading router setup.

I did some internet download speed tests and was surprised by results:

  1. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> PC = 220 Mbps
  2. Netgear C3000 --> WiFi--> PC = 40 Mbps
  3. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> LAN --> PC = 90 Mbps
  4. Netgear C3000 --> LAN --> ASUS WL520GU --> WiFi--> PC = 10 Mbps

I'm surprised the speed dropped down so much between tests #1 and #3 when everything was wired. The Wifi tests #2 and #4 were both conducted in my office and was even more surprised to see speeds were slower when I was sitting right next to the ASUS router.

I've seen some other threads about this and most people ask if the WAN port is being used or if DHCP was disabled. I can confirm that I am connecting the routers together with a long LAN cable. I've also disabled DHCP. The primary router ip is 192.168.0.1 and second router s 192.168.0.2

So what gives with the huge drop in speed?

Source Link
will
  • 1
  • 1
Loading