Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • Getting my data offsite is not an issue. I leave the house daily and hit my storage unit often. Pushing my stuff through the thin pipes available here, though, would be an issue, and I can't think of any vendors I am willing to trust with my personal data. It looks slick, but given how oversold bandwidth is here, it's not appealing. As to software RAID, I haven't yet run across one which was simpler than hardware RAID. Maybe things have changed, but they still require Yet Another PC.
    – MetaHyperBolic
    Commented Mar 18, 2010 at 21:41
  • @MetaHyperBolic: It would help to know your upload speed, but keep in mind that most good network backup applications will only copy the changes (or, at worst, the changed files) over the wire. The initial backup will take a long time unless you seed the offsite backup (which is possible with CrashPlan), but subsequent backups will be much faster unless you're frequently changing your files. Also, network backups typically run more frequently (e.g., whenever your computer is idle), making each backup job even smaller.
    – rob
    Commented Mar 18, 2010 at 21:57