Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • I do not want any kind of cloud, online, whatever backups. Absolutely not. I do not want to create Yet Another PC. Especially one where I will have to learn a new operating system for. No. I did not mention those things I wished to avoid out of whimsy.
    – MetaHyperBolic
    Commented Mar 18, 2010 at 18:33
  • I noted your objections to building another PC, but I thought it was important to point out a huge weak point in your plan: even with backups, you're not protected against data corruption. ZFS addresses this problem, and is not very difficult to set up. As far as cloud storage, whatever plan you come up with for offsite backup, it's going to be less convenient and will require more maintenance than using something like CrashPlan. If you just don't trust the cloud, CrashPlan doesn't require you to backup to the cloud--you can store an encrypted backup on your cousin's computer if you want.
    – rob
    Commented Mar 18, 2010 at 19:34
  • Offsite backup is pretty easy. I have a storage locker I visit at least once a week. Data corruption is tough. A directory is gone -- did I mean to delete it or did something else do it? How would a program know? I have struggled with that issue for a while.
    – MetaHyperBolic
    Commented Mar 18, 2010 at 19:35
  • Just as scary as having a directory disappearing is having silent data corruption. The files are all there, but you won't know if they've been corrupted until you try to use them. You could be backing up the same corrupted file for weeks, months, or years before you discover it has been rendered useless.
    – rob
    Commented Mar 18, 2010 at 20:01
  • 1
    @MetaHyperBolic: I feel I should point out that you specifically "asked" for a critique. The comments/concerns above are valid, and I would suggest you put your guard down a bit. You comments sound very defensive when this is exactly what you wanted – a second opinion.
    – Paulo
    Commented Mar 18, 2010 at 20:57