Skip to main content

I have a home WiFi network set up with 4 PC's. Two of the PC's are running Windows 10, one is running Windows 7 and onone is running Windows XP. Each of the PC's can "see" the others shared resources on the network. The Windows XP machine can access all of the shared files on the other 3 and the Windows 7 machine has no problem accessing shared files on either of the Windows 10 machines. Likewise, the Windows 10 machines can share files with each other and with the Windows 7 machine. The

The issue that I am having is that when I try to access the Windows XP machine from any one of the other 3, I get a Windows Security Log On dialoguedialog that will not accept the Logon Credentials for the XP machine making it impossible to access the shared folders and the one printer that is attached to the XP machine. 

I'll admit it, I really like the printer and want to continue to use it until it gives up the ghost. Thing is it's an older HP that is not supported beyond the Windows XP operating system. My

My question is, "How: How do I get the 3 newer OS's to Logon to the older XP machine, or is there a way to get around the Windows Security Credentials thing?

I have a home WiFi network set up with 4 PC's. Two of the PC's are running Windows 10, one is running Windows 7 and on is running Windows XP. Each of the PC's can "see" the others shared resources on the network. The Windows XP machine can access all of the shared files on the other 3 and the Windows 7 machine has no problem accessing shared files on either of the Windows 10 machines. Likewise, the Windows 10 machines can share files with each other and with the Windows 7 machine. The issue that I am having is that when I try to access the Windows XP machine from any one of the other 3, I get a Windows Security Log On dialogue that will not accept the Logon Credentials for the XP machine making it impossible to access the shared folders and the one printer that is attached to the XP machine. I'll admit it, I really like the printer and want to continue to use it until it gives up the ghost. Thing is it's an older HP that is not supported beyond the Windows XP operating system. My question is, "How do I get the 3 newer OS's to Logon to the older XP machine, or is there a way to get around the Windows Security Credentials thing?

I have a home WiFi network set up with 4 PC's. Two of the PC's are running Windows 10, one is running Windows 7 and one is running Windows XP. Each of the PC's can "see" the others shared resources on the network. The Windows XP machine can access all of the shared files on the other 3 and the Windows 7 machine has no problem accessing shared files on either of the Windows 10 machines. Likewise, the Windows 10 machines can share files with each other and with the Windows 7 machine.

The issue that I am having is that when I try to access the Windows XP machine from any one of the other 3, I get a Windows Security Log On dialog that will not accept the Logon Credentials for the XP machine making it impossible to access the shared folders and the one printer that is attached to the XP machine. 

I'll admit it, I really like the printer and want to continue to use it until it gives up the ghost. Thing is it's an older HP that is not supported beyond the Windows XP operating system.

My question is: How do I get the 3 newer OS's to Logon to the older XP machine, or is there a way to get around the Windows Security Credentials thing?

Source Link
Doug
  • 11
  • 1

Home Wifi Network with multiple PC's running different Windows versions

I have a home WiFi network set up with 4 PC's. Two of the PC's are running Windows 10, one is running Windows 7 and on is running Windows XP. Each of the PC's can "see" the others shared resources on the network. The Windows XP machine can access all of the shared files on the other 3 and the Windows 7 machine has no problem accessing shared files on either of the Windows 10 machines. Likewise, the Windows 10 machines can share files with each other and with the Windows 7 machine. The issue that I am having is that when I try to access the Windows XP machine from any one of the other 3, I get a Windows Security Log On dialogue that will not accept the Logon Credentials for the XP machine making it impossible to access the shared folders and the one printer that is attached to the XP machine. I'll admit it, I really like the printer and want to continue to use it until it gives up the ghost. Thing is it's an older HP that is not supported beyond the Windows XP operating system. My question is, "How do I get the 3 newer OS's to Logon to the older XP machine, or is there a way to get around the Windows Security Credentials thing?