Skip to main content
replaced http://serverfault.com/ with https://serverfault.com/
Source Link

I want to have both Windows and Debian on my laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad W540).

Windows 10 Pro should be the primary OS and Debian the secondary OS. Just for bootloader configuration.

I have the following configuration setup in my BIOS:

UEFI/Legacy Boot: Both
 - UEFI/Legacy Boot Priority: UEFI First
 - CSM Support: Yes
Secure Boot: Disabled

First I had installed Windows on the empty SSD. I left 100 GB of space at the end unallocated for the Debian installation.

Second I had installed (UEFI installer came up) Debian 8.7.1 using LXDE CD-1 without network connection. I had created a second EFI partition as well as /boot and LVM partitions within the 100 GB unallocated area. Beside /boot (ext2) all file systems are BTRFS. I had installed GRUB without "Force grub-efi installation to the removable media path" option.

Now the laptop will start with the Debian GRUB bootloader which is showing the Debian and Windows installation.

When I select Windows, I can work as normal. No limitations have been discovered yet.

When I select Debian, it taks at most 10 seconds until the laptop freezes completely. I have to push hardware power button for 10 seconds to turn off the machine and continue working.

I cannot supply with the actual logs due to I am not so fast (10 seconds) to login, mount USB storage and copy logs. But I have written it down (may contains typos):

nouveau E[PBUS] MMIO read of 0x00000000 FAULT at 0x400700 [ IBUS ]
nouveau E[PGRAPH] HUB_INIT timed out
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] (various done, start and stat messages)
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] init failed, -16
nouveau E[DRM] failed to idle channel 0xcccc0000 [DRM]
INFO: rcu_sched detected stalls on CPUs/tasks

Using Google to find a solution I found one SF postSF post that states adding nosmp to GRUB config would solve it. But for me it did not make a difference.

Why is Debian freezing? How to fix this?

I want to have both Windows and Debian on my laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad W540).

Windows 10 Pro should be the primary OS and Debian the secondary OS. Just for bootloader configuration.

I have the following configuration setup in my BIOS:

UEFI/Legacy Boot: Both
 - UEFI/Legacy Boot Priority: UEFI First
 - CSM Support: Yes
Secure Boot: Disabled

First I had installed Windows on the empty SSD. I left 100 GB of space at the end unallocated for the Debian installation.

Second I had installed (UEFI installer came up) Debian 8.7.1 using LXDE CD-1 without network connection. I had created a second EFI partition as well as /boot and LVM partitions within the 100 GB unallocated area. Beside /boot (ext2) all file systems are BTRFS. I had installed GRUB without "Force grub-efi installation to the removable media path" option.

Now the laptop will start with the Debian GRUB bootloader which is showing the Debian and Windows installation.

When I select Windows, I can work as normal. No limitations have been discovered yet.

When I select Debian, it taks at most 10 seconds until the laptop freezes completely. I have to push hardware power button for 10 seconds to turn off the machine and continue working.

I cannot supply with the actual logs due to I am not so fast (10 seconds) to login, mount USB storage and copy logs. But I have written it down (may contains typos):

nouveau E[PBUS] MMIO read of 0x00000000 FAULT at 0x400700 [ IBUS ]
nouveau E[PGRAPH] HUB_INIT timed out
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] (various done, start and stat messages)
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] init failed, -16
nouveau E[DRM] failed to idle channel 0xcccc0000 [DRM]
INFO: rcu_sched detected stalls on CPUs/tasks

Using Google to find a solution I found one SF post that states adding nosmp to GRUB config would solve it. But for me it did not make a difference.

Why is Debian freezing? How to fix this?

I want to have both Windows and Debian on my laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad W540).

Windows 10 Pro should be the primary OS and Debian the secondary OS. Just for bootloader configuration.

I have the following configuration setup in my BIOS:

UEFI/Legacy Boot: Both
 - UEFI/Legacy Boot Priority: UEFI First
 - CSM Support: Yes
Secure Boot: Disabled

First I had installed Windows on the empty SSD. I left 100 GB of space at the end unallocated for the Debian installation.

Second I had installed (UEFI installer came up) Debian 8.7.1 using LXDE CD-1 without network connection. I had created a second EFI partition as well as /boot and LVM partitions within the 100 GB unallocated area. Beside /boot (ext2) all file systems are BTRFS. I had installed GRUB without "Force grub-efi installation to the removable media path" option.

Now the laptop will start with the Debian GRUB bootloader which is showing the Debian and Windows installation.

When I select Windows, I can work as normal. No limitations have been discovered yet.

When I select Debian, it taks at most 10 seconds until the laptop freezes completely. I have to push hardware power button for 10 seconds to turn off the machine and continue working.

I cannot supply with the actual logs due to I am not so fast (10 seconds) to login, mount USB storage and copy logs. But I have written it down (may contains typos):

nouveau E[PBUS] MMIO read of 0x00000000 FAULT at 0x400700 [ IBUS ]
nouveau E[PGRAPH] HUB_INIT timed out
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] (various done, start and stat messages)
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] init failed, -16
nouveau E[DRM] failed to idle channel 0xcccc0000 [DRM]
INFO: rcu_sched detected stalls on CPUs/tasks

Using Google to find a solution I found one SF post that states adding nosmp to GRUB config would solve it. But for me it did not make a difference.

Why is Debian freezing? How to fix this?

added 25 characters in body
Source Link
burnersk
  • 446
  • 2
  • 9
  • 22

I want to have both Windows and Debian on my laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad W540).

Windows 10 Pro should be the primary OS and Debian the secondary OS. Just for bootloader configuration.

I have the following configuration setup in my BIOS:

UEFI/Legacy Boot: Both
 - UEFI/Legacy Boot Priority: UEFI First
 - CSM Support: Yes
Secure Boot: Disabled

First I had installed Windows on the empty SSD. I left 100 GB of space at the end unallocated for the Debian installation.

Second I had installed (UEFI installer came up) Debian 8.7.1 using LXDE CD-1 without network connection. I had created a second EFI partition as well as /boot and LVM partitions within the 100 GB unallocated area. Beside /boot (ext2) all file systems are BTRFS. I had installed GRUB without "Force grub-efi installation to the removable media path" option.

Now the laptop will start with the Debian GRUB bootloader which is showing the Debian and Windows installation.

When I select Windows, I can work as normal. No limitations have been discovered yet.

When I select Debian, it taks at most 10 seconds until the laptop freezes completely. I have to push hardware power button for 10 seconds to turn off the machine and continue working.

I cannot supply with the actual logs due to I am not so fast (10 seconds) to login, mount USB storage and copy logs. But I have written it down (may contains typos):

nouveau E[PBUS] MMIO read of 0x00000000 FAULT at 0x400700 [ IBUS ]
nouveau E[PGRAPH] HUB_INIT timed out
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] (various done, start and stat messages)
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] init failed, -16
nouveau E[DRM] failed to idle channel 0xcccc0000 [DRM]
INFO: rcu_sched detected stalls on CPUs/tasks

Using Google to find a solution I found one SF post that states adding nosmp to GRUB config would solve it. But for me it did not make a difference.

Why is Debian freezing? How to fix this?

I want to have both Windows and Debian on my laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad W540).

Windows 10 Pro should be the primary OS and Debian the secondary OS. Just for bootloader configuration.

I have the following configuration setup in my BIOS:

UEFI/Legacy Boot: Both
 - UEFI/Legacy Boot Priority: UEFI First
 - CSM Support: Yes
Secure Boot: Disabled

First I had installed Windows on the empty SSD. I left 100 GB of space at the end unallocated for the Debian installation.

Second I had installed Debian 8.7.1 using LXDE CD-1 without network connection. I had created a second EFI partition as well as /boot and LVM partitions within the 100 GB unallocated area. Beside /boot (ext2) all file systems are BTRFS. I had installed GRUB without "Force grub-efi installation to the removable media path" option.

Now the laptop will start with the Debian GRUB bootloader which is showing the Debian and Windows installation.

When I select Windows, I can work as normal. No limitations have been discovered yet.

When I select Debian, it taks at most 10 seconds until the laptop freezes completely. I have to push hardware power button for 10 seconds to turn off the machine and continue working.

I cannot supply with the actual logs due to I am not so fast (10 seconds) to login, mount USB storage and copy logs. But I have written it down (may contains typos):

nouveau E[PBUS] MMIO read of 0x00000000 FAULT at 0x400700 [ IBUS ]
nouveau E[PGRAPH] HUB_INIT timed out
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] (various done, start and stat messages)
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] init failed, -16
nouveau E[DRM] failed to idle channel 0xcccc0000 [DRM]
INFO: rcu_sched detected stalls on CPUs/tasks

Using Google to find a solution I found one SF post that states adding nosmp to GRUB config would solve it. But for me it did not make a difference.

Why is Debian freezing? How to fix this?

I want to have both Windows and Debian on my laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad W540).

Windows 10 Pro should be the primary OS and Debian the secondary OS. Just for bootloader configuration.

I have the following configuration setup in my BIOS:

UEFI/Legacy Boot: Both
 - UEFI/Legacy Boot Priority: UEFI First
 - CSM Support: Yes
Secure Boot: Disabled

First I had installed Windows on the empty SSD. I left 100 GB of space at the end unallocated for the Debian installation.

Second I had installed (UEFI installer came up) Debian 8.7.1 using LXDE CD-1 without network connection. I had created a second EFI partition as well as /boot and LVM partitions within the 100 GB unallocated area. Beside /boot (ext2) all file systems are BTRFS. I had installed GRUB without "Force grub-efi installation to the removable media path" option.

Now the laptop will start with the Debian GRUB bootloader which is showing the Debian and Windows installation.

When I select Windows, I can work as normal. No limitations have been discovered yet.

When I select Debian, it taks at most 10 seconds until the laptop freezes completely. I have to push hardware power button for 10 seconds to turn off the machine and continue working.

I cannot supply with the actual logs due to I am not so fast (10 seconds) to login, mount USB storage and copy logs. But I have written it down (may contains typos):

nouveau E[PBUS] MMIO read of 0x00000000 FAULT at 0x400700 [ IBUS ]
nouveau E[PGRAPH] HUB_INIT timed out
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] (various done, start and stat messages)
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] init failed, -16
nouveau E[DRM] failed to idle channel 0xcccc0000 [DRM]
INFO: rcu_sched detected stalls on CPUs/tasks

Using Google to find a solution I found one SF post that states adding nosmp to GRUB config would solve it. But for me it did not make a difference.

Why is Debian freezing? How to fix this?

Source Link
burnersk
  • 446
  • 2
  • 9
  • 22

Dual boot with Windows 10 and Debian 8. Why Debian freezes after seconds?

I want to have both Windows and Debian on my laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad W540).

Windows 10 Pro should be the primary OS and Debian the secondary OS. Just for bootloader configuration.

I have the following configuration setup in my BIOS:

UEFI/Legacy Boot: Both
 - UEFI/Legacy Boot Priority: UEFI First
 - CSM Support: Yes
Secure Boot: Disabled

First I had installed Windows on the empty SSD. I left 100 GB of space at the end unallocated for the Debian installation.

Second I had installed Debian 8.7.1 using LXDE CD-1 without network connection. I had created a second EFI partition as well as /boot and LVM partitions within the 100 GB unallocated area. Beside /boot (ext2) all file systems are BTRFS. I had installed GRUB without "Force grub-efi installation to the removable media path" option.

Now the laptop will start with the Debian GRUB bootloader which is showing the Debian and Windows installation.

When I select Windows, I can work as normal. No limitations have been discovered yet.

When I select Debian, it taks at most 10 seconds until the laptop freezes completely. I have to push hardware power button for 10 seconds to turn off the machine and continue working.

I cannot supply with the actual logs due to I am not so fast (10 seconds) to login, mount USB storage and copy logs. But I have written it down (may contains typos):

nouveau E[PBUS] MMIO read of 0x00000000 FAULT at 0x400700 [ IBUS ]
nouveau E[PGRAPH] HUB_INIT timed out
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] (various done, start and stat messages)
...
nouveau E[PGRAPH] init failed, -16
nouveau E[DRM] failed to idle channel 0xcccc0000 [DRM]
INFO: rcu_sched detected stalls on CPUs/tasks

Using Google to find a solution I found one SF post that states adding nosmp to GRUB config would solve it. But for me it did not make a difference.

Why is Debian freezing? How to fix this?