Skip to main content
Notice removed Draw attention by Old Pro
Bounty Ended with harrymc's answer chosen by Old Pro
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/853220648889569280
Add alternative options
Source Link
Old Pro
  • 2.5k
  • 1
  • 20
  • 28

In order to verify the integrity and restore the magnetic strength of data stored on disks I use to archive data (intended to last 30 years or more), I want to read and re-write every block of data on the drive every year or two. Some are HFS+ and some are NFTS. This answer suggests a utility that will do that when run from a Windows machine, but I don't have a Windows machine handy, although some of the archive drives are NTFS formatted (and some are HFS and some are other formats)even if I did, I don't think the Windows utility will work with HFS+ disks.

I want to make sure that I am refreshing important "hidden" data like the partition map itself, so I'm looking for a procedure that I can run on a Mac that will simply treat the disk like raw block storage and just read and re-write each block on the disk, but at the same time provide enough information to call out which files are damaged if it encounters a read or write error. (Since I have 2 archive copies of everything, I hope I can recover a bad file on one archive with a good file from the other archive.)

I can think of a bunch of ways to read all the data on the disk if I can get the Mac to mount it as a raw drive, but no satisfactory way to write the data back to the same block or to identify which file a bad block belongs to.

A solution that re-writes the data would still be helpful even if it cannot flag which file is corrupted if a bad block is found. If you know of a solution that works only on Linux or Windows, I'd like to hear about it as long as it can handle both HFS+ and NTFS drives. Also, if you know of a utility that can determine which file a bad block is part of, given a raw block ID, that would be useful, too, as half of a two-part solution.

In order to verify the integrity and restore the magnetic strength of data stored on disks I use to archive data (intended to last 30 years or more), I want to read and re-write every block of data on the drive every year or two. This answer suggests a utility that will do that when run from a Windows machine, I don't have a Windows machine handy, although some of the archive drives are NTFS formatted (and some are HFS and some are other formats).

I want to make sure that I am refreshing important "hidden" data like the partition map itself, so I'm looking for a procedure that I can run on a Mac that will simply treat the disk like raw block storage and just read and re-write each block on the disk, but at the same time provide enough information to call out which files are damaged if it encounters a read or write error. (Since I have 2 archive copies of everything, I hope I can recover a bad file on one archive with a good file from the other archive.)

I can think of a bunch of ways to read all the data on the disk if I can get the Mac to mount it as a raw drive, but no satisfactory way to write the data back to the same block or to identify which file a bad block belongs to.

In order to verify the integrity and restore the magnetic strength of data stored on disks I use to archive data (intended to last 30 years or more), I want to read and re-write every block of data on the drive every year or two. Some are HFS+ and some are NFTS. This answer suggests a utility that will do that when run from a Windows machine, but I don't have a Windows machine handy, and even if I did, I don't think the Windows utility will work with HFS+ disks.

I want to make sure that I am refreshing important "hidden" data like the partition map itself, so I'm looking for a procedure that I can run on a Mac that will simply treat the disk like raw block storage and just read and re-write each block on the disk, but at the same time provide enough information to call out which files are damaged if it encounters a read or write error. (Since I have 2 archive copies of everything, I hope I can recover a bad file on one archive with a good file from the other archive.)

I can think of a bunch of ways to read all the data on the disk if I can get the Mac to mount it as a raw drive, but no satisfactory way to write the data back to the same block or to identify which file a bad block belongs to.

A solution that re-writes the data would still be helpful even if it cannot flag which file is corrupted if a bad block is found. If you know of a solution that works only on Linux or Windows, I'd like to hear about it as long as it can handle both HFS+ and NTFS drives. Also, if you know of a utility that can determine which file a bad block is part of, given a raw block ID, that would be useful, too, as half of a two-part solution.

Notice added Draw attention by Old Pro
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by Old Pro
Source Link
Old Pro
  • 2.5k
  • 1
  • 20
  • 28

Refresh an Archive Drive With a Mac

In order to verify the integrity and restore the magnetic strength of data stored on disks I use to archive data (intended to last 30 years or more), I want to read and re-write every block of data on the drive every year or two. This answer suggests a utility that will do that when run from a Windows machine, I don't have a Windows machine handy, although some of the archive drives are NTFS formatted (and some are HFS and some are other formats).

I want to make sure that I am refreshing important "hidden" data like the partition map itself, so I'm looking for a procedure that I can run on a Mac that will simply treat the disk like raw block storage and just read and re-write each block on the disk, but at the same time provide enough information to call out which files are damaged if it encounters a read or write error. (Since I have 2 archive copies of everything, I hope I can recover a bad file on one archive with a good file from the other archive.)

I can think of a bunch of ways to read all the data on the disk if I can get the Mac to mount it as a raw drive, but no satisfactory way to write the data back to the same block or to identify which file a bad block belongs to.