Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 21, 2019 at 5:00 comment added user287352 See my updated answer. Your VALUE formula is incorrect in a lot of ways.
Feb 19, 2019 at 4:58 comment added user287352 Can't you just format as a number then multiply by 86400? The whole =VALUE string is unnecessary.
Mar 29, 2017 at 17:03 comment added Glorfindel Sure, my e-mail address is <my twitter handle> at Gmail dot com. Note that because we probably use different versions of Excel (I use Excel for Mac 2011), our results may vary.
Mar 29, 2017 at 16:59 comment added Marco Jajac Glorfindel is is perhaps possible to send you somehow a part of my timestamp so you can just look at it? I do not wanna give the idea that i somehow want to burden you with work or something, it is not about that at all. It is just that i am completely stuck with this timestamp bit and you are obviously far more an expert i could ever be. Again: It is not about you doing anything really, just tell me what is wrong with it. Is there a possibility for it or did i just overstep now? If so, i am sorry. Did not want to upset you at all.
Mar 12, 2017 at 12:50 comment added Marco Jajac It is ok. Maybe you will find something in the coming days or so. No pressure on you. But maybe something will occur to you. I thank you for your kind help up to this point. I expect nothing from you but i am glad for all the help i can get. Nice Sunday to you, Sir.
Mar 12, 2017 at 9:56 comment added Glorfindel Hmm ... strange. I can only test it by typing in these timestamps manually, and then it works. Blame it on the mysteries of Excel ...
Mar 12, 2017 at 9:17 comment added Marco Jajac When i "change" the format pretty much NOTHING happens. But here is the thing: When i "clip" away the miliseconds bit from the time stamp i can suddenly change it into total seconds! Meaning: 00:02:02.300 - erase .300 - THEN: 00:02:02 is left - type [ss] into type in custom and presto i get the total seconds of 122. Before the change in [ss] the (minus milisecond bit) timestamp reads: hh:mm:ss. But with the original Timestamp it only reads STANDARD. I think that is part of the problem. I tried to type in hh.mm.ss.000 but Excel did not accept it.
Mar 12, 2017 at 7:42 comment added Glorfindel What happens if you change the format of those cells (to general, to timestamp, to number)? What do the contents look like, then?
Mar 11, 2017 at 22:59 comment added Marco Jajac With the other Approach i get that "there is something wrong with the formula". This timestamp comes from a program that measures psychophysiological data (heartrate, skin conductance) with the HH:mm:ss.(Miliseconds) Data stored in STANDARD under Custom in the cell format. Maybe that is the root of the problem? Thanks for at least trying to help me, mate. I appreciate it!
Mar 11, 2017 at 22:51 comment added Marco Jajac First, let me thank you very much for answering me, Dear Glorfindel. Problem is that it does not work. I get #Value! Error with the =A1*86400 Approach
Mar 11, 2017 at 10:36 history edited Glorfindel CC BY-SA 3.0
added 185 characters in body
Mar 11, 2017 at 10:20 history answered Glorfindel CC BY-SA 3.0