Skip to main content

Timeline for DHCP and network infrastructure

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 11, 2017 at 18:20 comment added I say Reinstate Monica I respect that. It's ok that we disagree.
Mar 11, 2017 at 18:18 comment added Darren Well believe it or not. I'm not going to do it again just to prove something to a random dude on the web.
Mar 11, 2017 at 18:17 comment added I say Reinstate Monica I totally get that. And I knowingly refute the claim that adding a second DHCP server in the OP's environment will cause a network storm. I already observed that it can disrupt proper network operation due to conflicting IP addresses, DNS servers, etc.
Mar 11, 2017 at 18:15 comment added Darren I'm not talking about in general. The answer was specific to the question which was "someone else is in control of giving out DHCP leases on my network, I'm thinking about putting a DHCP server on the network myself."
Mar 11, 2017 at 18:13 comment added I say Reinstate Monica I have no doubt that a malicious DHCP server could impact a network's operation. But that's quite different than asserting that a competent administrator will experience problems with multiple DHCP servers. Large networks require multiple such servers!
Mar 11, 2017 at 18:01 comment added Darren @twisty, it's been a while now, but I have seen with my own two eyes someone connect a rogue DHCP server to our network and knock it out. From memory, it seemed to be caused by every client simultaneously trying to renegotiate their lease and a storm of ARP broadcasts as multiple clients were receiving duplicate IP addresses (one from each server) and subsequently trying to renegotiate.
Mar 11, 2017 at 17:06 comment added I say Reinstate Monica You indicate adding a DHCP server will cause a packet storm, knocking out the network. How exactly would the packet storm occur?
Mar 11, 2017 at 17:04 comment added Darren @Twisty, yes, I think that was implied.
Mar 11, 2017 at 17:02 comment added I say Reinstate Monica Multiple DHCP servers on a network will by no means knock a network out. In fact, multiple DHCP servers are a common feature of resilient networks. Now what can cause problems for clients are multiple DHCP servers handing out IP addresses from the same address pool, and/or with conflicting settings (e.g. differing DNS servers, gateway, etc.)
Mar 7, 2017 at 19:40 history edited Darren CC BY-SA 3.0
added 1 character in body
Mar 7, 2017 at 14:37 history answered Darren CC BY-SA 3.0