Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • So I have to have the bootable CD or USB stick?
    – user642478
    Commented Mar 2, 2017 at 20:05
  • Yes, you need a boot CD or USB.
    – Andreas F
    Commented Mar 2, 2017 at 20:15
  • Difficult to say without knowing how you got as far as you did. My guess is you are using a USB image as a virtual CD, in which case this will work fine, as the image is appearing to Virtualbox as a CD. (Think of VirtualBox as a virtual computer with everything - including the CD drive able to be emulated by resources off the host)
    – davidgo
    Commented Mar 2, 2017 at 20:16
  • After a bit of researching, and a lot of trial and error, I found that the 'Unetbootin' tool installs the Ubuntu platform on my laptop computer as its own OS. Now, I'm about to install it on my computer, and I'll link you to a new question in which I'll need your assistance.
    – user642478
    Commented Mar 8, 2017 at 15:49