Skip to main content
replaced http://unix.stackexchange.com/ with https://unix.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I have several startup applications:

user@host:~$ ls -l .config/autostart/
. . .
. . . XXX.desktop
. . . YYY.desktop
. . . ZZZ.desktop
. . . setxkbmap.desktop

Among these is a command to disable Caps Lock:

setxkbmap -option caps:none

First, whenever I try to edit any of these startup commands with sleep, they don't seem to work:

sleep 20; setxkbmap -option caps:none

or...

sleep 20 && setxkbmap -option caps:none

And, second, if I remove the sleep command from all startup commands, and then put the Caps Lock disable command at the top of the list, it doesn't work but the others do...

All the commands if run in the terminal, outside of startup applications, work fine, so I'm unsure as to why they don't work on boot.

UPDATE

Based on @Xen2050's answer, I have adapted the methods he suggested into a workable solution. For two of the startup commands I'm using this form:

bash -c "sleep 20; specific_command"

And the the others, I've left as the default startup commands. This is OK, because the machine boots faster, and the Caps Lock disable command is working consistently.

UPDATE 2

Did some additional research, and found out that xkb is probably the best method to disable Caps Lock. Since this question was about startup applications, the accepted answer is valid. But if anyone else ends up here looking for how to disable the Caps Lock key on Ubuntu 16.04, here are some useful tips:.

I went with editing the /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/pc, but I think that using user overrides is probably the right way to do it (as @quixotic suggested):

Make Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keys

I have several startup applications:

user@host:~$ ls -l .config/autostart/
. . .
. . . XXX.desktop
. . . YYY.desktop
. . . ZZZ.desktop
. . . setxkbmap.desktop

Among these is a command to disable Caps Lock:

setxkbmap -option caps:none

First, whenever I try to edit any of these startup commands with sleep, they don't seem to work:

sleep 20; setxkbmap -option caps:none

or...

sleep 20 && setxkbmap -option caps:none

And, second, if I remove the sleep command from all startup commands, and then put the Caps Lock disable command at the top of the list, it doesn't work but the others do...

All the commands if run in the terminal, outside of startup applications, work fine, so I'm unsure as to why they don't work on boot.

UPDATE

Based on @Xen2050's answer, I have adapted the methods he suggested into a workable solution. For two of the startup commands I'm using this form:

bash -c "sleep 20; specific_command"

And the the others, I've left as the default startup commands. This is OK, because the machine boots faster, and the Caps Lock disable command is working consistently.

UPDATE 2

Did some additional research, and found out that xkb is probably the best method to disable Caps Lock. Since this question was about startup applications, the accepted answer is valid. But if anyone else ends up here looking for how to disable the Caps Lock key on Ubuntu 16.04, here are some useful tips:.

I went with editing the /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/pc, but I think that using user overrides is probably the right way to do it (as @quixotic suggested):

Make Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keys

I have several startup applications:

user@host:~$ ls -l .config/autostart/
. . .
. . . XXX.desktop
. . . YYY.desktop
. . . ZZZ.desktop
. . . setxkbmap.desktop

Among these is a command to disable Caps Lock:

setxkbmap -option caps:none

First, whenever I try to edit any of these startup commands with sleep, they don't seem to work:

sleep 20; setxkbmap -option caps:none

or...

sleep 20 && setxkbmap -option caps:none

And, second, if I remove the sleep command from all startup commands, and then put the Caps Lock disable command at the top of the list, it doesn't work but the others do...

All the commands if run in the terminal, outside of startup applications, work fine, so I'm unsure as to why they don't work on boot.

UPDATE

Based on @Xen2050's answer, I have adapted the methods he suggested into a workable solution. For two of the startup commands I'm using this form:

bash -c "sleep 20; specific_command"

And the the others, I've left as the default startup commands. This is OK, because the machine boots faster, and the Caps Lock disable command is working consistently.

UPDATE 2

Did some additional research, and found out that xkb is probably the best method to disable Caps Lock. Since this question was about startup applications, the accepted answer is valid. But if anyone else ends up here looking for how to disable the Caps Lock key on Ubuntu 16.04, here are some useful tips:.

I went with editing the /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/pc, but I think that using user overrides is probably the right way to do it (as @quixotic suggested):

Make Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keys

replaced http://askubuntu.com/ with https://askubuntu.com/
Source Link

I have several startup applications:

user@host:~$ ls -l .config/autostart/
. . .
. . . XXX.desktop
. . . YYY.desktop
. . . ZZZ.desktop
. . . setxkbmap.desktop

Among these is a command to disable Caps Lock:

setxkbmap -option caps:none

First, whenever I try to edit any of these startup commands with sleep, they don't seem to work:

sleep 20; setxkbmap -option caps:none

or...

sleep 20 && setxkbmap -option caps:none

And, second, if I remove the sleep command from all startup commands, and then put the Caps Lock disable command at the top of the list, it doesn't work but the others do...

All the commands if run in the terminal, outside of startup applications, work fine, so I'm unsure as to why they don't work on boot.

UPDATE

Based on @Xen2050's answer, I have adapted the methods he suggested into a workable solution. For two of the startup commands I'm using this form:

bash -c "sleep 20; specific_command"

And the the others, I've left as the default startup commands. This is OK, because the machine boots faster, and the Caps Lock disable command is working consistently.

UPDATE 2

Did some additional research, and found out that xkb is probably the best method to disable Caps Lock. Since this question was about startup applications, the accepted answer is valid. But if anyone else ends up here looking for how to disable the Caps Lock key on Ubuntu 16.04, here are some useful tips:.

I went with editing the /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/pc, but I think that using user overrides is probably the right way to do it (as @quixotic suggested):

Make Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keys

I have several startup applications:

user@host:~$ ls -l .config/autostart/
. . .
. . . XXX.desktop
. . . YYY.desktop
. . . ZZZ.desktop
. . . setxkbmap.desktop

Among these is a command to disable Caps Lock:

setxkbmap -option caps:none

First, whenever I try to edit any of these startup commands with sleep, they don't seem to work:

sleep 20; setxkbmap -option caps:none

or...

sleep 20 && setxkbmap -option caps:none

And, second, if I remove the sleep command from all startup commands, and then put the Caps Lock disable command at the top of the list, it doesn't work but the others do...

All the commands if run in the terminal, outside of startup applications, work fine, so I'm unsure as to why they don't work on boot.

UPDATE

Based on @Xen2050's answer, I have adapted the methods he suggested into a workable solution. For two of the startup commands I'm using this form:

bash -c "sleep 20; specific_command"

And the the others, I've left as the default startup commands. This is OK, because the machine boots faster, and the Caps Lock disable command is working consistently.

UPDATE 2

Did some additional research, and found out that xkb is probably the best method to disable Caps Lock. Since this question was about startup applications, the accepted answer is valid. But if anyone else ends up here looking for how to disable the Caps Lock key on Ubuntu 16.04, here are some useful tips:.

I went with editing the /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/pc, but I think that using user overrides is probably the right way to do it (as @quixotic suggested):

Make Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keys

I have several startup applications:

user@host:~$ ls -l .config/autostart/
. . .
. . . XXX.desktop
. . . YYY.desktop
. . . ZZZ.desktop
. . . setxkbmap.desktop

Among these is a command to disable Caps Lock:

setxkbmap -option caps:none

First, whenever I try to edit any of these startup commands with sleep, they don't seem to work:

sleep 20; setxkbmap -option caps:none

or...

sleep 20 && setxkbmap -option caps:none

And, second, if I remove the sleep command from all startup commands, and then put the Caps Lock disable command at the top of the list, it doesn't work but the others do...

All the commands if run in the terminal, outside of startup applications, work fine, so I'm unsure as to why they don't work on boot.

UPDATE

Based on @Xen2050's answer, I have adapted the methods he suggested into a workable solution. For two of the startup commands I'm using this form:

bash -c "sleep 20; specific_command"

And the the others, I've left as the default startup commands. This is OK, because the machine boots faster, and the Caps Lock disable command is working consistently.

UPDATE 2

Did some additional research, and found out that xkb is probably the best method to disable Caps Lock. Since this question was about startup applications, the accepted answer is valid. But if anyone else ends up here looking for how to disable the Caps Lock key on Ubuntu 16.04, here are some useful tips:.

I went with editing the /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/pc, but I think that using user overrides is probably the right way to do it (as @quixotic suggested):

Make Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keys

replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I have several startup applications:

user@host:~$ ls -l .config/autostart/
. . .
. . . XXX.desktop
. . . YYY.desktop
. . . ZZZ.desktop
. . . setxkbmap.desktop

Among these is a command to disable Caps Lock:

setxkbmap -option caps:none

First, whenever I try to edit any of these startup commands with sleep, they don't seem to work:

sleep 20; setxkbmap -option caps:none

or...

sleep 20 && setxkbmap -option caps:none

And, second, if I remove the sleep command from all startup commands, and then put the Caps Lock disable command at the top of the list, it doesn't work but the others do...

All the commands if run in the terminal, outside of startup applications, work fine, so I'm unsure as to why they don't work on boot.

UPDATE

Based on @Xen2050's answer, I have adapted the methods he suggested into a workable solution. For two of the startup commands I'm using this form:

bash -c "sleep 20; specific_command"

And the the others, I've left as the default startup commands. This is OK, because the machine boots faster, and the Caps Lock disable command is working consistently.

UPDATE 2

Did some additional research, and found out that xkb is probably the best method to disable Caps Lock. Since this question was about startup applications, the accepted answer is valid. But if anyone else ends up here looking for how to disable the Caps Lock key on Ubuntu 16.04, here are some useful tips:.

I went with editing the /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/pc, but I think that using user overrides is probably the right way to do it (as @quixotic suggested):

Make Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keysMake Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keys

I have several startup applications:

user@host:~$ ls -l .config/autostart/
. . .
. . . XXX.desktop
. . . YYY.desktop
. . . ZZZ.desktop
. . . setxkbmap.desktop

Among these is a command to disable Caps Lock:

setxkbmap -option caps:none

First, whenever I try to edit any of these startup commands with sleep, they don't seem to work:

sleep 20; setxkbmap -option caps:none

or...

sleep 20 && setxkbmap -option caps:none

And, second, if I remove the sleep command from all startup commands, and then put the Caps Lock disable command at the top of the list, it doesn't work but the others do...

All the commands if run in the terminal, outside of startup applications, work fine, so I'm unsure as to why they don't work on boot.

UPDATE

Based on @Xen2050's answer, I have adapted the methods he suggested into a workable solution. For two of the startup commands I'm using this form:

bash -c "sleep 20; specific_command"

And the the others, I've left as the default startup commands. This is OK, because the machine boots faster, and the Caps Lock disable command is working consistently.

UPDATE 2

Did some additional research, and found out that xkb is probably the best method to disable Caps Lock. Since this question was about startup applications, the accepted answer is valid. But if anyone else ends up here looking for how to disable the Caps Lock key on Ubuntu 16.04, here are some useful tips:.

I went with editing the /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/pc, but I think that using user overrides is probably the right way to do it (as @quixotic suggested):

Make Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keys

I have several startup applications:

user@host:~$ ls -l .config/autostart/
. . .
. . . XXX.desktop
. . . YYY.desktop
. . . ZZZ.desktop
. . . setxkbmap.desktop

Among these is a command to disable Caps Lock:

setxkbmap -option caps:none

First, whenever I try to edit any of these startup commands with sleep, they don't seem to work:

sleep 20; setxkbmap -option caps:none

or...

sleep 20 && setxkbmap -option caps:none

And, second, if I remove the sleep command from all startup commands, and then put the Caps Lock disable command at the top of the list, it doesn't work but the others do...

All the commands if run in the terminal, outside of startup applications, work fine, so I'm unsure as to why they don't work on boot.

UPDATE

Based on @Xen2050's answer, I have adapted the methods he suggested into a workable solution. For two of the startup commands I'm using this form:

bash -c "sleep 20; specific_command"

And the the others, I've left as the default startup commands. This is OK, because the machine boots faster, and the Caps Lock disable command is working consistently.

UPDATE 2

Did some additional research, and found out that xkb is probably the best method to disable Caps Lock. Since this question was about startup applications, the accepted answer is valid. But if anyone else ends up here looking for how to disable the Caps Lock key on Ubuntu 16.04, here are some useful tips:.

I went with editing the /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/pc, but I think that using user overrides is probably the right way to do it (as @quixotic suggested):

Make Terminal recognize PageUp and PageDown when remapped to different keys

added user specific override idea and link
Source Link
nicorellius
  • 6.7k
  • 13
  • 46
  • 76
Loading
Added bits on disabling caps lock key on ubuntu 16.04
Source Link
nicorellius
  • 6.7k
  • 13
  • 46
  • 76
Loading
added 392 characters in body
Source Link
nicorellius
  • 6.7k
  • 13
  • 46
  • 76
Loading
Source Link
nicorellius
  • 6.7k
  • 13
  • 46
  • 76
Loading