Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 1
    Maybe the battery has an issue and wrongly signals the need to hibernate; or the power setting is set to 'hibernate when reaching 100%' (it should be at 7% or so)? Try to run it without a battery, and see if the issue is gone?
    – Aganju
    Commented Jan 26, 2017 at 12:04
  • 1
    The power settings were one of the first things that I checked. I disabled all hibernation just to make sure, but it still randomly hibernates. I am using a MacBook Pro and cannot remove the battery. I do suspect that my battery may be starting to fail. Commented Jan 26, 2017 at 12:08
  • Were you finally able to figure out the cause & solution for the above problem? Thanks for that detailed analysis anyways. Facing exactly same issue. Commented Dec 8, 2020 at 1:32
  • This has just happened to me twice now. My HP mini-pc suddenly going into hibernation mode. No lights or fans running on the PC. Even the power led is off. I have to press the power button and the computer goes through what looks like a normal boot process but when I login, all my apps and windows are still opened as if the computer had gone into sleep mode. This is quite baffling. All my PC power settings are set to never or off. Its a PC, there is no battery. Anyone have a clue as to what is causing this?
    – rolinger
    Commented Oct 16, 2022 at 13:01